Chocolate Snaps Sugar Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Apologies to the cook for skipping the melted butter/cocoa step, but in the interest of time I sifted the cocoa with the dry ingredients like other reviewers. This is a great, standard chocolate cookie. I used dark brown sugar and a touch of instant coffee to enhance the chocolate flavor and it really suited my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suavehouse113

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
One word...YUMMY! I've been making chocolate sugar cookies for a few years now using devil's food cake mix - which are a favorite among my children and their friends. I was looking for a version that I could make from scratch and this is it! I did follow other's suggestions to sift the cocoa in with the flour though...perfect! Thanks for sharing this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
I am the baker who originally submitted this recipe. I like the recipe just the way it is as I submitted it because it makes it a thinner, more crisp cookie like a ginger snap (which is my all time favorite!). Of course alter the recipe the way you prefer for taste, texture or dietary reasons but please don't knock my recipe. Everyone has their own tastes and what they like. I am glad to see the recipe is well rated though...enjoy as I have! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
This recipe is very good. The cookies are krispy and have a good flavor. They will go well with the tea I am hosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barberton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
These are the BEST! I make these pretty often. The only thing is, I don't think the extra step of melting the margerine and cocoa in the pan is needed. I leave the margerine out completely. I mix the sugar and butter (actually I used butter flavored shortening in mine) then the eggs and vanilla. I then add all the dry ingredients and mix well. I also don't refrigerate it for an hour. I think if you use butter, like the recipe calls for, then the refrigeration is needed. I am using shortening, so it doesn't make a difference whether it has chilled or not, and I have done it both ways to make sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
One word: Heaven! I went by the recipe except I rolled the cookies in brown sugar/white sugar mixture. They turned out 100% better than my favorite snickerdoodle recipe! Soft and chewy on the inside and crunchy on the edges. Perfection in a cookie! I baked them for 8min. only. I found there wasn't a gooey mess when I added the cocoa to the melted butter. I did it this way instead of taking the suggestions of other reviews because I figured there was a reason that step was there. It has to be done to get that soft, chocolaty center. Thank you for a perfect chocolate snickerdoodle cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Skowhegan, Maine, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
YUM!!! Like others, I added sifted cocoa to the dry ingredients and omitted the margerine alltogether. I rolled 1/2 the cookies in regular sugar and 1/2 in powdered suger. I think I prefer the powdered suger, but love them both! =) Thank you for the easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
Yum - bite-size brownies! I stirred in 1/2 a cup of mini-chocolate chips and 1 1/2 cups of finely-chopped toasted walnuts. The first batch was rolled in powdered sugar, but the cookies were too sticky for my cookie jar. The rest of the cookies were rolled in granulated sugar which worked much better. All of the cookies, however, were delicious! And as for the eternal question - to sift the cocoa with the dry ingredients or melt with margarine as directed? I sifted it into the dry ingredients and increased the amount of butter creamed with the sugars accordingly. It worked out great and I'll definitely make these cookies again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
Even after chilling the dough for a few hours, it was softer than I expected, BUT it still worked great. I dipped the rolled dough in "big sugar" instead of regular granulated sugar, as I like the sparkly look and extra crunch it provides. These are excellent. Oh--I used an additional 3 Tablespoons butter instead of margarine, as the recipe states. Worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
I had my doubts about adding the cocoa to the margarine and they were well founded. It clumped and made a big lump of wet cocoa. Even after mixing there were large bitter clumps in the dough. I had high hopes, but I don't even want to consider making them again and adding the cocoa powder to the dry ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States