Chocolate Snaps Sugar Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
These were just okay. I think I like the chocolate crackle cookie better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I decided to make these cookies as printed....WITH the exception that I just beat in the chocolate/butter mixture with the beater after adding the eggs. No problem there. I did half with powdered sugar topping and half with regular sugar. I liked the regular ones better. I did use Hershey's Special Edition chocolate, and, honestly, I am not thriled with the flavor of it. BUT the cookies were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I just made tonight. I did omit the margarine and added cocoa powder to flour mixture. I also rolled a few in powdered sugar and the rest in white sugar. My family likes the cookies with white sugar vs. the powdered sugar ones. They remind me of a chocolate snickerdoodle. We all enjoyed them and I will make these again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
these are REALLY good. The only thing I did different is I did not bother chilling or roll in sugar. I immedately dropped by large spoon (I always make big cookies) on a cookie sheet and baked. Flavor and texture was PERFECT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Excellent! I followed other reviewers and omitted the margarine/cocoa step and added the cocoa directly to the dry ingredients. I chilled the dough 2 hours and had no trouble rolling these into balls. Using my small cookie scoop I got 47 cookies, and I rolled some in powdered sugar and some in granulated. Unlike some of the other reviewers - we prefer the look and taste of those rolled in granulated sugar. Mine were perfect at 8 minutes, slightly crisp on the outside and chewy (almost brownie-like) inside. A new favorite for us! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Photo by Mochi Puffs
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Yum. I had to use olive oil instead of margarine. I also used goat butter. Very beautiful too because they sparkle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eatslotsacookies
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This recipe is perfect.. there is no need to change it! The only thing you have to worry about is self-control after they are done baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatslotsacookies

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
These are SO GOOD! My husband, who isn't a big sweets fan, ate 3 for dessert last night. He even took 1 with him to work today, saying: "I love your cookies!" They turned out crispy on the edges and very chewy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
We love them. Even my husband (a real food critic), said they are GREAT! He ate 4 as soon as I finished baking. I didn't have butter and used margarine instead and it worked out great. I've read the other reviews are saw the comments about the cocoa and margarine, as soon as I melted my butter, I removed it from the heat and stirred in the cocoa, yes it lumps, but I used a hand mixer and thought it worked well. If I changed anything, I would melt my butter in the microwave and then stir into the cocoa. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This recipe is soooo good! I made the cookies last night and followed the advice of some of the other contributors. I left out the step with the extra margarine and mixed in the cocoa powder with the rest of the dry ingredients. After everything was mixed together, I let the dough chill in the fridge for an hour, then rolled the dough into balls and sprinkled them with powdered sugar before baking. Baked them for 8 minutes and they turned out perfect!! If I could rename these cookies, I would call them brownie cookies -- that's what they tasted like right out of the oven! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greensparkle

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States