Chocolate Silk Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I love this pie! I just use a grahm cracker crust instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachealvarhola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Gloucester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This pie was delicious and is destined to become an absolute favorite at my holiday celebraions! Having read the many comments about this pie being too rich, I made a few adjustments. I added 1 1/4 cup hot milk, instead of 1 cup. To make up for the additional liquid, I added 2 envelopes of knox gelatin, using the hot milk to dissolve it. Although the pecan layer looked too high in the pan when I took it out of the oven, it "fell" perfectly, becoming a delicious bottom layer. It was different from any desert I've ever brought, and such a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Awesome! Will make again. Very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This pie was horrible to make! Looked good on paper but the 1st part cooked way too fast & nearly burnt. Then the chocolate filling never hardened or set so the pie was never able to be finished. I've always used pudding & thought that the chips would be a good idea but unfortunately it wasn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This pie was much too rich. The Chocolate was too thick and I couldn't even taste the pecan part hardly. Ended up throwing most of it away:/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhelms_90

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This is fabulous. So much better than boxed pudding pies. I didn't change a thing. A hit no matter where I take it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimz11

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Yum, yum, yum, yum. This is the perfect combination of chocolate and pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was just OK. Not something I would crave. I thought it was extremely rich and the chocolate overpowered the pecan part. I doubled the amount of pecans and still found it overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I must have done something wrong but it was horrible! The chocolate never really set and was WAY to rich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISHUNEB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States