Chocolate Silk Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I love this recipe but I made some very slight changes to make it more palatable to people who can't do incredibly sweet desserts. The salt helps balance out the sweetness of the chocolate but I've actually done both 6oz of semi-sweet milk chocolate chips and 6oz of dark chocolate chips and 12 oz of just dark chocolate. I prefer dark chocolate to semi-sweet and by mixing dark and milk, and balanced out with the pecans and salt it made this dessert into something that can even beat out my husband’s in-demand chocolate peanut butter pie. His family asks for both pies now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I love this pie! I just use a grahm cracker crust instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachealvarhola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Gloucester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This pie was delicious and is destined to become an absolute favorite at my holiday celebraions! Having read the many comments about this pie being too rich, I made a few adjustments. I added 1 1/4 cup hot milk, instead of 1 cup. To make up for the additional liquid, I added 2 envelopes of knox gelatin, using the hot milk to dissolve it. Although the pecan layer looked too high in the pan when I took it out of the oven, it "fell" perfectly, becoming a delicious bottom layer. It was different from any desert I've ever brought, and such a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Awesome! Will make again. Very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This pie was horrible to make! Looked good on paper but the 1st part cooked way too fast & nearly burnt. Then the chocolate filling never hardened or set so the pie was never able to be finished. I've always used pudding & thought that the chips would be a good idea but unfortunately it wasn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This pie was much too rich. The Chocolate was too thick and I couldn't even taste the pecan part hardly. Ended up throwing most of it away:/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhelms_90

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This is fabulous. So much better than boxed pudding pies. I didn't change a thing. A hit no matter where I take it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimz11

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Yum, yum, yum, yum. This is the perfect combination of chocolate and pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was just OK. Not something I would crave. I thought it was extremely rich and the chocolate overpowered the pecan part. I doubled the amount of pecans and still found it overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States