Chocolate Shell Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I loved this recipe and used it as a base. I added some room temperature milk ( about a quarter cup because I still wanted the shell to be thick), substituted a bit of semi sweet chocolate chips and added pinch of sea salt. Also instead of a microwave I preheated my oven to 350 and cut up the butter just so it would melt nicely and put it along with the chocolate in an oven safe pyrex bowl and left it for 3-5 mins. I took it out and stirred in the milk added the sea salt, it was perfect!! I used it to make chocolate covered ice cream cones where I used the sauce to coat the ice cream portion of the cone. *Priceless Hint: Pistachio ice cream covered in chocolate shell = la petite mort. I was going to add pics but sadly the cones did not make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camsmum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
A local ice cream stand used to serve chocolate dipped ice cream with a topping that hardened but was softer and more flavorful than what most places use. Unfortunately, they recently switched to the same crackly topping that everyone else has, so I decided to find a recipe to make my own. I suspected butter was the key, and it was! I wish I'd thought to make this sooner--cheaper and more convenient than going out. Now that I can make this any time I want it, my figure may never be the same again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
This recipe was exactly what I needed to top a cheesecake- it was easy and came out tasting so good. I added about a tablespoon of milk to make it a bit thinner, like other commenters. Overall a really quick, easy recipe that is USEFUL and a must have for everyone's recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by piper_says

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Photo by LTLBITZ
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
This turned out perfect, it hardened just like the magic shell. I poured this over a turtle cheesecake I made and it was beautiful. This was exactly what I was looking for. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
So good! Perfect for my cake pops. I added a little corn syrup for shine ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LIANNASR
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This was the perfect "sauce" for what I needed. I made a bowling ball cake and iced it with the chocolate shell. Easy to work with and way tastier than fondant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIANNASR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
So easy - so good! I added a capful of peppermint extract to make it a chocolate peppermint sauce. Poured it over a banana sliced vertically and some ice cream for a wonderful peppermint chocolate banana split!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANOLACOWGIRL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Easy, quick and exactly what my boys wanted for their ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
OMG - LOVE IT! I always loved magic shell but it's full of hydrogenated fats. Obviously this is not a health food but I feel more comfortable with using plain, wholesome butter - and besides, it's to die for. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I used milk chocolate chips[ it's what I had on hand]. I drizzled the sauce over 'Peanut Butter Sheet Cake' from this site. Wounderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Chocolate Ganache

See how to make rich homemade dark chocolate ganache.

Homemade Chocolate Cronuts

Pudding-filled chocolate donuts made with refrigerated crescent dough.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States