Chocolate Sheet Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
THIS. IS. THE. BOMB.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This recipe was delicious and rich! Thanks for sharing! I had to change one thing and that was only because my sons' schools are "nut free". I put coconut in the icing instead of nuts, and it still came out wonderful!! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
It was yummy, but kinda dry and it didn't keep well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Yum!! I used 1 stick of regular butter and 1 stick of 50/50 Smart Balance... I omitted the nuts on the frosting, too. Didn't have a jelly roll pan so baked cake in a 9 x 13 and it took about 25-30 minutes instead. We LOVED this cake -- the cinnamon in it was just the right touch, and the cake was moist and delicious. We served it with french vanilla ice cream. This was my husband's 40th birthday cake, and he said he'd happily turn 40 again next year if it means more of this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Delicious moist cake. Read reviews about how it is not a sweet cake and agree. I like the cinnamon, adds a unique taste. Frosting didn't make enough to my liking. Would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Excellent. I made some variations on the frosting. I browned the butter, and instead of using confectioners sugar I used 1/2 cup brown sugar and brought it to a boil after mixing in the sugar. My guests couldn't get enough of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Steidl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I loved this cake--moist, tasty. I don't like using sweetened condensed milk, so might have to figure out a replacement next time. I lessened the brown sugar (I always lessen the sweetener in sweets). I am a spice cake fiend--just about everything I bake has one or more spices, so I loved the addition of cinnamon (which also helps regulate blood sugar so is good with sweets!) but my chocolate-loving father said "that's not chocolate cake, that's a spice cake"--so be forewarned this is not a decadently rich chocolatey cake. I love it, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I used almond extract instead of vanilla. I also left out the walnuts. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetotravel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I made this cake for my daughters birthday and it was a big hit. My Mom is a wonderful cook and gave me rave reviews! I did cut the cinnamon down to 1/2 teaspoon. I also used butter instead of margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taholah, Washington, USA
Living In: Hoquiam, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catkin
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I liked this cake, my partner loved it, he can't stop eating it! The only slight niggle with it I have is the cinnamon. I absolutely love cinnamon but am not keen on it in this recipe. I made the cake as given but next time I will omit the cinnamon and add some grated orange zest to the cake mixture before baking and some orange juice to the icing. One other thing, rather than greasing the cake tin, I lined it with baking parchment to ensure the cake came out cleanly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catkin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States