Chocolate Sheet Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
This is by far the best chocolate cake recipe I've ever made. I used milk because I didn't have any buttermilk and put the glaze on top as suggested. It's so moist and amazing. I will make this recipe often. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
We used to call this Dean's Sheet Cake. Lost the recipe when we remodeled our kitchen! I always add a "glaze" of 1/2 cup butter, 6 Tbs of milk and 4-6 Tbs of cocoa. Melt in pan on stove or microwave. Add 3 cups powdered sugar. Mix well by hand. As soon as cake is out of oven, poke it all over with a toothpick. Pour the glaze over and it will melt on the cake and dribble down those holes. The top will shine. Cool and cut into bars. This seem to keep forever (if it lasts) when refrigerated. Now my new kitchen is complete. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
I doubled the recipe and baked longer in an 11x15 sheet cake pan. It came out very well - very moist and a good texture. I was skeptical because the batter is very liquidy, but there were no problems. Also added a bit of chocolate extract to the liquid ingredients for more chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
This was really delicious...but it turned out to be rather flat (and I can't imagine how you could feed 24 people with it). I used a 10X15 pan and it was still not very big. I must have done something incorrectly...but it was so simple and easy I can't imagine what I could have done wrong. Has anyone else had this issue?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Very good basic chocolate cake. I made the recipe as is and made 2 9" round pans. They came out the perfect size for a layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
This cake tastes great, and isn't hard to make. I added chocolate chips, just because I'm a chocoholic! BUT- if you are making this cake in a jelly roll pan, do not, I repeat, DO NOT double the recipe like some of the reviewers did. (unless you want 2 cakes!)Apparently they have a deeper pan. I doubled the recipe and it filled my jelly roll pan to the brim! So then I had to pour 1/2 the batter into another pan. Good thing I had another pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAMA MIA
Reviewed: May 13, 2007
This cake turned out great. I doubled the recipe and used an 11 x 15" sheet cake pan. The pan required 11 cups and this was exactly right. It was very dense, more like a brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I made this cake in a 9x13 inch pan and it turned out very well, even though I had to bake it for almost 40 minutes. I liked the flavor but the texture was a little less moist than I would have preferred. This may of course be because I did not use the correct pan size. I will try it again with the correct pan in the future. It was a breeze to make for a "made from scratch" recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LACMOORE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
Fantastic!!! I added instant chocolate pudding to the recipe. Hmmm Hmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
I love this easy cake..and will substitute sour milk (milk with lemon juice in it) for buttermilk and use milk instead of water and it still comes out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ridgefield, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States