Chocolate Sheet Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This a very simple, yet good cake. I made this for my son's birthday this year, and everyone thought it was a store bought cake. And although I'm good at baking many things, birthday cakes are not my forte. This one helped me prove myself wrong :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This is a great recipe. I loved that the ingredients were all things that I had on hand already. Also the fact that it bakes in 15 minutes is amazing. It's big enough to feed a large crowd and cools off quickly for frosting. I made frosting following a recipe my mom had. Here it is: Put 10 oz. milk chocolate in food processor. Heat 1/2 cup of whipping cream, a pinch of salt and 1 Tablespoon of corn syrup to a simmer. Pour over chocolate and process. Add in 1/2 cup powdered sugar and process. Slowly add in 8 tablespoons of cold butter. Process until smooth. We didn't have milk chocolate so we used regular chocolate chips and it turned out great. This cake was wonderful with that frosting. I made it for my niece's 11 birthday party and adults and kids all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
This is an exellent cake. It is very most and just a tad gooey. it is the perfect combination of ingredients and is great with any icing or frosting, especially peanut butter or cream cheese frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cody

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermitage, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I made this cake in a 9x13 inch pan and it turned out very well, even though I had to bake it for almost 40 minutes. I liked the flavor but the texture was a little less moist than I would have preferred. This may of course be because I did not use the correct pan size. I will try it again with the correct pan in the future. It was a breeze to make for a "made from scratch" recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LACMOORE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
My family loves this cake, it is their favorite. I've had this recipe for years but the one I have you add 1 tsp. of ground cinnamon to the cake batter and frosting. Gives it a great flavor. I also frost or glaze the cake when just removed from the oven, it makes it heavy and moist. Same recipe for the frosting as mentioned before. 1 box Powered sugar, 1 stick of margarine,6 Tablespoon milk, 4 Tablespoon Cocoa, 1 tsp.cinnamon and 1 tsp. vanilla Melt and mix well margarine,coco,milk and cinnamon in sauce pan, remove from heat once margarine is melted and add vanilla and powered sugar spread on cake while hot. One cup of chopped nuts may be added to frosting if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
This is by far the best chocolate cake recipe I've ever made. I used milk because I didn't have any buttermilk and put the glaze on top as suggested. It's so moist and amazing. I will make this recipe often. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by David
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
I made this as a birthday cake for my girlfriend. Turned out brilliant first time and made me popular. It's very rich and moist. I used a small deep round tin, and baked for around an hour an a half. Finished it off with melted chocolate and white Malteasers. Cooked it on the Sunday, still fresh through Thursday. I cannot say the same for the bought cake she also had. Very impressed with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
This cake tastes great, and isn't hard to make. I added chocolate chips, just because I'm a chocoholic! BUT- if you are making this cake in a jelly roll pan, do not, I repeat, DO NOT double the recipe like some of the reviewers did. (unless you want 2 cakes!)Apparently they have a deeper pan. I doubled the recipe and it filled my jelly roll pan to the brim! So then I had to pour 1/2 the batter into another pan. Good thing I had another pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I make choco, cake cakes all the time, they all come out great. This cake wal dry and chalky. I'm sure some find it fine. Perhaps If Had glaxed it and used toothpicks as suggested, it would have fine. I'm very sorry for such a sad review. It did have a wonerful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Very good basic chocolate cake. I made the recipe as is and made 2 9" round pans. They came out the perfect size for a layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States