Chocolate Sheet Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
The best chocolate cake recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shaily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I made this with skim milk instead of buttermilk (because that was all I had) & substituted apple sauce for the oil and it turned out GREAT. Very quick and easy AND yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This is a great and easy recipe. I was half asleep the first time I made it and it still came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
this cake is so good i just made it and i will take a picter of it cause it is so prety:) hannah14
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Needs salt I think. The butter/oil combo is a good idea though - don't be tempted to substitute as both give different textures/flavor. As for flavor I think this could use a dash of instant coffee or sub the water for coffee to enhance the flavor otherwise it isn't that chocolately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
The only flavor of cake I ever make is chocolate so I have a lot of experience with various chocolate cakes. This one is by far the WORST chocolate cake I have ever made. I found this recipe in hopes to use it for a sheet cake for my son's first birthday. I decided to make a smaller version before the party to test it - Thank god I did! It has a very floury taste with a very light and non distinctive chocolate flavor. Even with chocolate icing it didn't taste very chocolaty. It is moist which is about all it has going for it since the flavor is worse than a boxed cake. If you love chocolate as I do.... don't make this cake! If I could give it any less than 1 star I would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This is one of my favorite cakes. I used cream cheese frosting once, but I like it better with chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ismene

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Well,I was looking for a fast chocolate sheet cake recipe at the moment.I came upon this one and decided to try it.Our family is always trying to use sugar substitutes in our recipes.Big Mistake with this one!The cake bakes quite well and comes out very moist,I think the only mistake I made was adding the Splenda sugar substitute.Please use regular sugar.The cake came out very tasteless.but other than that it baked well and stayed moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I served this at a church fellowship. I overheard one woman tell her friend that, "This is the best chocolate cake I've ever eaten!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Divine. Best the first day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States