Chocolate Sheet Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Wowza!!!! This was absolutely the BEST chocolate cake!!!!! However, it is truly a sheet cake and probably would not do well if you are thinking 2 layer cake. I used all butter, NO margarine or shortening and left out the cinnamon. Cooked as directed. Iced as directed. Every one of our guests was raving about this cake and there was not a crumb left. I will make this cake over and over again. DO NOT be swayed by those who said it was dry or flavorless! The recipe cannot compensate for lack of skill in the kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Great cake! We ate it while it was warm and it was fabulous! I used butter instead of margarine and it turned out just fine! I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This is the easiest, best cake recipe ever!!!! I used only a pinch of cinnamon because I only wanted to enhance the chocolate flavor not overwhelm it. I also didn't use shortening, just added about another half stick of margarine. Turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Incredible! This is the best I've tryed or tasted. My husband asked for a Choc Sheet Cake for his Birthday last year and my 1st attempt was dismal. I tryed several in the last 9 months and THIS IS IT! Awesome ChocOlaty Goodness! Did quit smoking during this test process and ended up making 4 of these cakes. Gained 13 pounds in 14 days but it got me through the tough times! Magic Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I made a few small changes to the recipe, due to what I had on hand. I used a half cup of butter instead of margerine for both the cake and the frosting, I added a teaspoon of vanilla to the cake recipe (I subtracted a teaspooon of water so the recipe wouldn't be affected) and because I didn't have buttermilk, I used regular milk that I soured with a tablespoon of lemon juice. I was worried that the cake itself wouldn't be chocolate-y enough but when combined with the chocolate frosting, it was just right. VERY moist cake--one of the best textures I've had in a cake in a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Super easy to make with good texture. This is not a "Death-by-Chocolate" cake, but it is very moist. This is the third one I've baked this month. Each one has turned out perfect. I leave it unglazed so the husband can take some on his drive to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by perla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Very moist cake! I added some chocolate chips to make it more "chocolatety".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caddie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
7.14.10 This is the second best MEDIUM chocolate cake. It's a close second to Old Fashioned Chocolate Cake. This has a thin batter so doesn't round too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This is an excellent cake - very moist and lots of chocolate flavor. I used butter instead of margarine in both the cake and frosting, and I love the little something extra the cinnamon gives. This has now become my go-to recipe for an indulgent chocolate cake. I've already made it twice in 12 hours to take to friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Just made this for my son's 9th birthday. He is a chocolate lover and he and his friends ate until the last bite and asked for more. Said it was the best chocolate cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States