Chocolate Scotcheroos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Fantastic recipe! My only suggestion would be to let the butterscotch melt a little before mixing in the chocolate chips, as the butterscotch seems to have a slightly higher melting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
quick simple and always a favorite... the trick here is to remove from heat as soon as the corn syrup starts to boil... otherwise they will end up hard.. good recipe... as recommended by a friend who owns a catering company I will try using brown sugar instead of white sugar for better flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This is a decent start for this dessert but I think the following changes make the bars gooey-er (softer and chewier) and the "frosting" to bar ratio more proportionate: For the Bar: ~Use 2 c. of peanut butter ~Add additional corn syrup as needed because the extra peanut butter can dry out the bar For the "Frosting": ~Use 2 c. of chocolate chips ~Use 2 c. of butterscotch chips ~Use 1 c. of peanut butter (this will improve the peanut butter taste even more and help make microwave melting easier)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
These are Bomps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bakersfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I loved this recipe and ate way too much of my own dessert! I did follow the advice of others and doubled the chocolate. It was a huge hit and very tasty! I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
These have been my favorite dessert since I was young. To avoid the problem of overheating, I never let the corn syrup/sugar mixture get to a boil. Once it reaches the simmer stage, the concoction is warm enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I've made this for several years and lost my original recipe, though this one is close. So glad I found this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I love this recipe! I've been making this for more that 40 yrs. The only differences in my recipe is mine calls for 3/4 c white corn syrup and 2T butter and 1c sugar. 1 1/2 c peanut butter 6 c Special K. One package chocolate chips( 2 cups) and 1 c butterscotch chips. Directions are the same. These are always a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laingsburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
4 stars only because I felt it wasn't enough chocolate topping--I had to make another batch of it to sufficiently cover the pan. Other than that, excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I have been making scotcheroos for years, and this recipe is by far a simple best!! At the suggestion of other reviewers, I increased the Peanut Butter and removed the corn syrup mixture from the heat when I first saw bubbles around the edges of the pot. I also doubled the choc and butterscotch chips for the topping (2 cups of each). I thought 1.5 cups for each would be sufficient next time, However, everyone that enjoyed one thought the top was nice and thick. These were soft, chewy and gone quickly!! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Caledonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter, oats, and chocolate chips create an outrageous treat.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States