Chocolate Scotcheroos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I have been making this recipe for years. It is extremely sweet! I only gave it 4 stars because my recipe differs just a bit. I use 1-1/2 cups peanut butter which makes it far less hard. For the topping, 2 cups chocolate chips and 2 cups butterscotch chips (doubling this recipe). Makes a nice thick topping! Make sure you use a double boiler for melting as the butterscotch chips just don't melt very well in the microwave. Very good but try my version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROSNANFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
My mother-in-law has been making this one for my husband for years. Glad I found it... Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I used rice chex instead, very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Yummy, but ...BEWARE! indulge sparingly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyceia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This recipe is easy and delicious! I have made it several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
ok- so now looking at the other reviews i can see i overboiled. i usually read those b4 i cook- must have been on a sugar trip. These were so hard they could have broken teeth- had to toss them all out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I've been making these from my own recipe (which is pretty much identical) for over 20 years. A few of my own tips: add the peanut butter with the syrup and sugar BEFORE you turn on the heat and then just barely bring to a boil (this ensures you don't make rock candy), use pam for baking to grease the dish, use waxed paper to press the mixture into the pan, and, lastly, use a double boiler to melt the chocolate. These all guarantee a perfect result every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt R.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
YOUR CRAZY IF YOU DONT LOVE THESE! =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sydney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I've made chocolate scotcheroos twice in the last 2 weeks. The first time my topping was dry, but the second time I added half and half...and it turned out yummy. Easiest no-bak recipe I've ever made. Simple, fast and good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I was a little dissappointed. They were VERY hard to cut so leave extra time for that. They weren't as crewy as I expected, but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter, oats, and chocolate chips create an outrageous treat.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States