Chocolate Scotcheroos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
My family has used this recipe forever! Yes, definitely don't boil the sugar and syrup, they will end up too hard, just enough heating so the mixture is clear and warm, you can do this in the microwave too, just heat it 1 minute at a time till it's clear. Tip to save on the pots and pans cleaning--I sprinkle the chips on the top of the rice krispie mixture and put in a warm oven-300 degrees or so and watch until the chips all get that shiny look-then they are easy to spread around and you get every last bit of the topping too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Yum! Just bring the sugar/karo to a boil and immediately remove from heat to keep them from being too hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Everyone loves these bars. My 93 year old mother has been making these since the 1950s. I made them for the first time in many years and I won't wait that long again. Highly recommend these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This is a "go-to" winner! I made some of these at Christmas, to give out to my favorite neighbors. My kids were jealous! Between the neighbors and kids, I had to make several batches because of their popularity. I always add about one extra cup of rice krispies. Make sure you check for peanut allergies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by scl229
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This is SO good! Perfect to bring for a dessert dish! Kids love them, everyone loves them. Simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
This recipe has been around since the early 1960's. My mother made them every single year when we were growing up, it is part of our Christmas tradition. I have been making them for 26 years. My 18 year old son has to have them. We love them! I also double the topping recipe ?? Delish!! Merry Christmas everybody ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Really yummy. Definitely use 1 1/2 cups of peanut butter and don't cook the syrup too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This is the same recipe I always use, and it is the best! I get the same comments every time I make it, "I don't know what you do, but your scotcheroos are the best". The ingredients are perfect as they are. I think the key is take the sugar/corn syrup mixture off the heat as soon as it comes to a boil. If you let it boil too long, your bars will be a little hard. I also don't press the rice krispie mixture real hard into the pan; just even them out and press them a lightly. This is a family favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AmyCee
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Made these for a friend from the MidWest for a taste of home...delicious! I only had peanut butter without sugar/salt added and I think it was as sweet as I could handle! Recipe also reduces well so you don't end up over-eating and forgetting to bring them to the pot luck :) I do wish I could find a substitute for the corn syrup as I try to stay away from it as much as I can...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Simple, chewy, and tasty. I recommend doubling the chocolate and butterscotch topping however. And best to eat when at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Amos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter, oats, and chocolate chips create an outrageous treat.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States