Chocolate Scotcheroos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I was excited to find this recipe after my husband brought me home something similar from a local bake shop. I had no idea what it was called, but it was so good! Before making this, I read every review to see what changes ppl made. It seemed that most ppl increased the chocolate & butterscotch chips to a full bag. After making it and following those reviews, I would stick to what the recipe calls for. As much as I LOVE chocolate, I found it was too much for the amount of rice krispy the recipe calls for. Or if you do increase the chocolate, I would increase the rice crispy too. I only used half a cup of sugar as well figuring that it would be sweet enough (which it was) with the chocolate on top. Annnnnd, I'll use a little bit more PB next time! Great recipe, glad I found it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
We love these, easy good and dont heat up the house in summer when you make them...keep them refrigerated til serving as they get melty on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dawn
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
These are a family favorite! I've been making this exact recipe for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by thedailygourmet
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I tried twice to get the butterscotch morsels to melt smoothly when combined with the chocolate morsels. The first time I tried cooking the chocolate as instructed on the stove top w/o a waterbath. The chocolate mixture seized up. I threw it out. The second time using the microwave and microwaving on 70% power at 30 second intervals I had the same problem. On my third attempt I finally melted the chocolate morsels individually and spread the chocolate on top of the bars. I then melted the butterscotch morsels in a separate bowl and melted them. I ended up having to add crisco into the butterscotch morsels to get them to a point of smooth consistency. For all my work these were good, but rather sweet and I'm not sure they would be worth repeating regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thedailygourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
These are very sweet and therefore a very kid-friendly treat. The adults were also happy to indulge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I've been making these for 30 years, we call them Oh Henry bars. I use crunchy peanut butter and also add a glob of peanut butter the chocolate mixture to make it smoother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I thought this recipe was good but way way too sweet! I don't know if you need the extra sugar in the syrup. If I ever made these again, I would omit the additional sugar. Also, the people that are having difficulty with the end product being hard, you are cooking the syrup and sugar mixture too long. It should never boil as that is how you make hard candy. If you are unsure of what temperature is ok, try using a candy thermometer and keep it under the soft candy stage. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
YUM! Peanut butter and chocolate are my favorites so I knew I would love this. It is the BEST! To make these for a halloween treat, I formed them into mice. I used an Easter egg pan which I greased. Once formed, I dipped them in the melted chips instead of spreading it. I used whole almonds for the ears, string red licorice for the tail, and a tube of Wilton black decorating icing for the eyes and nose. The recipe itself was so easy to make as were the mice. You could make them bigger as rats as well. Thank you Karo for sharing such a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
YUM. These were great and fairly easy. I had the peanut butter pre-measured so I could add it in once I took the corn syrup and sugar off the heat. I used a double-boiler to melt the chocolate, also. Taking these to a party, so of course I had to test one (or 3) before I went. Hehe. These are great! Another note: I made these again yesterday for another get-together and realized at the last minute that I was short about a cup of rice cereal. I substituted crushed corn flakes for the remainder and I couldn't tell a difference - they still came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Yummy! I am making these for my husband's family reunion tomorrow. I'm sure they will go fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States