Chocolate Scotcheroos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I have been making these for about 30 years now and they are always everyone's most requested item on my Christmas candy plate. I, like another viewer, use a whole bag of chocolate chips and a whole bag of butterscotch chips because this is the way my recipe read from home ec class and 4-H back in the 70's. The only complaint I have is that they are not that easy to cut. I turn mine out on a cutting board and use a really large very sharp knife to get them cut as evenly as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Augusta, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
My mom made these when we were kids, and now I make them for my kids! Great for any potluck event or family gathering. SO ADDICTING, you can't eat just one! The chocolate may not seem thick at first, but when it firms up, it's plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I love this recipe but here is what I do different. I use 2/3 cup light corn syrup, 2/3 cup dark corn syrup and 2/3 cup sugar. Then on the top I use 2 cups chocolate chips melted with 2 tbsp veg. oil (personal preference not using butterscotch chips) Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
My mom has been making these since I can remember. I suggest using Special K and Skippy chunky peanut butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
my aunt makes these all the time. she entered this recipe in the contest at her place of work and it won. now they make it every tuesday. which is saying something because she works at the local hospitle. these are really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Awesome recipe! A favorite during harvest! I leave them in the trucks for the guys to pick up when they unload the combines. They are ALWAYS gone quickly. I usually make a pan a day during harvest! I use 1-1/2 cups peanut butter - makes it chewier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crookston, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hannah, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
My boss used to make these for us at work all the time. I keep losing the recipe and hate asking her for it. This is one of my favorite treats to make! Give this one a try for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This is a fantastic recipe! I make mine with Special K. Always a hit! Fair warning that they are pretty rich. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
My grandmother has made these for 30 years!! They are great!! I also make it in the micowave oven and it works great. I keep stiring every 30 seconds to a minute so that it does not burn. the chocolate and butterscotch 30 sec. the first couple of times ..then 10-15 seconds stir until melted.. enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Fabulous recipe - my family has been making it for years. One suggestion - make the bars a "sandwich." Spread half of the cereal mixture in the pan, top with the melted chips - and spread the rest of the cereal mixture on top. Keeps the gooey chocolate on the cookie - and not on you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States