Chocolate Scotcheroos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
AMAZING. I didn't have any chocolate chips and the store was closed, but I decided to make them anyways! I used Cocoa Crispy Rice cereal (it's all I had) instead of regular Rice Crispy Cereal. And I added a little extra peanut butter. I stuck them in the ice box for about 30 minutes and then cut them. They are so soft and chewy! SUPER yum! I can't wait to try them when I have some chocolate chips in the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
My sister discovered this recipe over 25 years ago & it has become a family favorite. Our kids request them whenever they come home for a visit & we always serve them at family get-togethers. I like to use crunchy peanut butter just to add a little crunch to the bars. Easy to make & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
AWESOME!!! By far the best rice krispy bars ever. Whenever I take these bars to a potluck, cookout, or picnik I never had leftovers, not even once. Both kids and adults love these. They disappear very quickly...that says alot about how good these bars are. I am always requested to bring scotcheroos to every gathering. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heatherkuehnel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brookings, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
A family favorite and personal specialty! I ate these all the time when I was pregnant! My hubby jokes my daughter is made of scotcheroos. :) After making these many (MANY) times, here are my tips: 1. Make sure you boil the syrup and sugar just the right amount. About 30-45 seconds at full boil. Sugar should just dissolve. Less, and they won't stick together well, more and they'll be too hard. 2. It's best to mix the chocolate and butterscotch chips on a double boiler or something, but in a hurry, just pour them both on top of the rice krispies, and stick them in the microwave or oven for a bit to melt, then spread them with a spatula. Don't let them burn! This is the way Grandma always makes it. 3. My Aunt uses Milk chocolate chips, and people like that. (I like the butterscotch, though.) Just butterscotch is great for people who don't want or like chocolate. 4. These are great in both a 9x13 pan, and a jellyroll pan. It makes them thinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Excellent nummy bars...made on my lunch hour and people at work ate them in no time. All I have left is crumbs in the pan :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I absolutely love the taste of peanut butter crispies, but the chocolate on top is way too much for me. Next time I'll try cutting the chocolate / butterscotch mixture in half or removing it altogether. Oh, and living in a small apartment I have no 9 * 13 pan, much to my surprise. So I put the dish in two 8 * 8 pans which worked fine. Next time I'll probably cut the recipe in half and just use one 8 * 8 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
These are very tasty bars, but it would be helpful if the recipe pointed out more carefully what one reviewer noted - that is, to barely let the corn syrup/sugar solution start to bubble and then quickly remove it from the heat, so that the bars will be soft. I didn't know to do that and ours are really hard to bite into and chew. But, we can just barely bite into them and they are still really good! So with that modification, I would have given them 4 or 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Wow, these are soooo good...and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twistedsisterl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scio, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I don't like overly sweet desserts & I really just wanted to use up some old cheerios so I skipped the sugar & just used dark choc chips, it was really yummy, more like a cereal bar this way. I used the fridge to cool & a big sharp knife to cut. I'll make again. super easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alex.
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
i added a little twist to mine... my fiance doesn't like butterscotch as much as peanut butter, so i split the cup of butterscotch chips in half and added a half cup of reese's peanut butter chips, too. also, mixed half and half regular rice krispies with chocolate rice krispies. AND added a layer of marshmallows before the chocolate topping! it was amazing, and they were all gone within a few days ha ha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alex.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States