Chocolate Scotch Whiskey Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
DELICIOUS!!! I'm glad I made this cake for my whiskey loving guy...I made a couple of changes: I didnt grind the almonds quite as finely as I was supposed to, I left out the raisins, I added a small scoop of semi sweet choc chips in addition to the german chocolate. I made whip cream from this site and added whiskey to it =) yum..it added a nice light touch to the dense chocolate cake, AND I made chocolate ganache from this site (added whiskey to that too) instead of the topping the recipe suggested...Dont be afraid of the whiskey taste being too overpowering..chocolate and whskey are the BEST combination!!! We loved this cake..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THERRERA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mirtus
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Formidable! I think the origin of the chocolate squares is not as important as the percent of cacao in them. Could be German or other as long as it is high. I used chocolate with 64% cacao. There's a problem though with the recipe converter: - 4.5 tablespoons of cake flour equals 67,5 grams (and not 40 gr).; - 2/3 cups ground almonds equals 80 grams (and not 95 gr).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mirtus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
This cake is absolutely the best! It has a rich chocolate torte-like flavor. I've been told it tastes like it came from a professional bakery. The only thing I do different is that I don't add the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
My boss had requested a birthday cake combining her favorite flavors - chocolate and Scotch! An internet forum query yielded this recipe. It was a total hit. She ate two pieces (usually only a half) and took a couple for other people. The raisins really absorbed the scotch and when you bit down on them - Wow! This recipe is surely a 'keeper'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
Wow, rich, soft, yummy. Suggestion: DO use parchment or your cake will fall apart coming out of the pan! I also added hazelnuts as well as raisins, still superb. I found it took a bit longer than 20 mins to cook enough, but that may be my oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Warrington, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I drastically reduced the amount of raisins & used regular chocolate chips instead of the German Chocolate. I loved the drizzle over this superbly moist cake (it wowed everyone!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracy m.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
Fan-flipp'n-tastic! Even with all my efforts to ruin it. I made the cake on Monday night, took it to work tuesday left it in the work fridge all day and forgot to pick it up before driving to my parents house for my Dad's bday dinner. Arrgh! I then proceeded to forget it @ work wednesday night, so on thursday night I took it to Deb's house for dinner. I made ganache since I hadn't iced it w/the icing suggested in the recipe. Made the icing - it seemed wrong so I didn't use it. Anyhow I made the ganache (http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Chocolate-Ganache/Detail.aspx?prop31=4) but omitted the dark rum, thinking it would save this old dried out cake. Well this cake didn't need saving! It was fantastic! And the ganache was an excellent addition. Next time I will either mash up or puree the raisons or leave them out all together. We all agreed they were weird in the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
The raisins and almonds were at bit weird in this cake. Made it again without them and every enjoyed it much more. My rating is for the recipe as published without the raisins and almonds I would give it 4 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Girl
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I can't get enough of this cake!! I love whiskey and chocolate, so I thought I'd give this a try. Easy to make, too. I made it for a small gathering and not a crumb was left! Thanks so much for sharing!! This will now become one of my favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I made this for my boyfriend for Valentine's day, although I didn't use any raisins. Thanks for the recipe, he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States