Chocolate Sauerkraut Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
If you have not tried this cake, please do It is very moist and good. My son would never sauerkraut, but he loved this so much, he came back the next day for more. (He is 51)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This was a very moist cake. The sauerkraut really does not impart a flavor, just the texture of "coconut." The cake itself is somewhat flat and chalky. If I were to use this idea in the future, I would add the sauerkraut to another cake base (e.g. box mix, cavity maker cake).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I made this for an Oktoberfest get-together with friends... everyone gave it rave reviews, and were surprised to learn there was sauerkraut in the recipe. Unfortunately, I have an allergy to anything chocolate and couldn't try it. Would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Joseph

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I've made this quite a few times - and my family loves it! (although my brother only until he found out about the sauerkraut - the third time I made it -now he won't touch it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This recipe is a keeper! I don't remember the last time I had a chocolate cake that was as moist as this one. It appealed to the adults in the house because it was not overly sweet. Took the advice of other reviewers and used a coconut-pecan frosting so no one noticed the sauerkraut in the cake. I knew this was a good recipe when hubby had two slices after dinner and then told me to put two in his lunchbox. Just a note, I made it in two nine inch round cake pans and it makes a good size layer cake, great for any occasion! Great recipe Jane, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
This was the BEST chocolate cake I have ever made! It baked up beautifully, too. I used 2% milk ilo buttermilk and Smart Balance 50% butter sticks ilo butter. I made it for a coworker's birthday and they love German Chocolate. I topped it with homemade frosting from another recipe on this site (that I changed a bit) and the result was FANTASTIC! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
this recipe makes wonderful mini bunt cakes. I love the sceret ingredient. My co-workers loved the cake anf fliped when the found out that it was sauerkraut in the cake. I add more sugar to make the cake sweeter. Am going to try to add German Chocolate in place of the regular Cocoa Powder. I had a proble with over baking, make sure to be accurate with the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Elkhart, Kansas, USA
Living In: Attica, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
My mom used to make this cake in the 1950's. We loved it then and still do now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Do not be scared! Live a little and step outside the box; these are fantastic! I followed the recipe w/2 minor alterations: 1. I made as cupcakes (baked for right around 20 min a batch and the recipe made 30 cupcakes for me) and 2. I never have buttermilk so I used the milk (1% at our house) and vinegar substitution. I should probably make it known that I'm NOT a from scratch cake fan; I tend to prefer Duncan Hines box mixes, so I baked these more for the novelty of the sauerkraut w/low expectations...well, they certainly exceeded the low bar I had set! These are great! great flavor...I'm not sure what the sauerkraut does (some bites I felt I could get the barest hint of sauerkraut, but maybe it was all in my head), but these are def worth trying! I frosted w/butter cream (butter cream II from here, actually) but next time I think I'll try w/either a cinnamon-y or a caramel or a PB or a mint frosting (the possibilities are endless!) thanks to the suggestions of wonderful RE members.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I had to try this because I love sauerkraut and the thought of putting it in a cake just tickled me. I was saddled with the task of making a cake for a going-away party for a co-worker, and thought I would make this as a revenge of sorts. I very roughly chopped the sauerkraut because I was going to put coconut frosting on the cake anyway and figured that if anyone got some stringy bits they would just think it was coconut. Nobody suspected anything. I got nothing but rave reviews. Even when I got a piece of what I knew was sauerkraut and bit into it, all I could taste was chocolate. This cake is so delicious and chocolatey. I recommend it to anyone who wants to try something different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States