Chocolate Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
If I could give this 0 stars I would. Terrible. It's way too thin and too much cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
I USED 1/3 CUP OF COCOA AND ADDED 100 GRAMMES 70% DARK CHOCOLATE AND USED 1 CUP OF SKIM MILK INSTEAD OF THE WATER. JUST FANTASTIC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
It had the consistency of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
This is definitely a chocolate syrup,not a hot fudge sauce. It's runnier than I expected. I wanted a coffee flavor to mine, so considered making it with coffee instead of water, but because I wanted it a little thicker and richer I made it with whole milk and added some espresso powder. Used a mixture of Hershey's and Dutch processed cocoa powders. The flavor was more adult due to the espresso and I liked it. I made it to serve on cream puffs and wished it would have been just a bit thicker. If I decide to make this one again, I think I will reduce the amount of liquid, or replace some of it with coffee liqueur- or both. UPDATE: after a day in the refrigerator the consistency is much better, like Hershey's syrup. I stirred it into milk and heated in the microwave for some hot chocolate and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I use 1/2 cup milk and 1/2 cup kahlua with a dash of cinnamon to make a yummy topping for my brownie balls. great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I am placing this rating on the exact recipe above. It was way too thin and bland. I wish that people would rate the actual recipe. This does not deserve 4stars. If you are planning to use this recipe I would do as the other comments suggest and add syrup and cut down the water and sub some milk. I'm sure that makes a world of difference. It was sub par okay and did the trick for tonight. I was out of heavy cream and real dark chocolate so I chose this recipe because I had all the ingredients. Don't get me wrong. It was edible and tasty just not up to my standards of deliciousness. My children on the other hand would have drank it but then again they also would eat pure sugar if it were allowed. Bottom line would I recommend and Will I make THIS recipe again. No
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy Dennison
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Divine! I had the most amazing chocolate sauce on top of ice-cream while in Mauritius and hoped that this recipe would taste the same. To my surprise, it was even better!! As per another comment, I substituted the water for 1 cup of milk and it came out great. My only criticism is that it was a bit sweet for me, so next time I'll reduce the sugar. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Dennison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Great recipe! Pour into milk to make an AMAZING tasting chocolate milk!I added about 1 1/2 tablespoons of butter to get it thicker and have a more fatty taste and only used 1 cup of water as suggested by many other commenters. Awesome for macaroon dipping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
This is so easy to make and tastes better than the bottled stuff. Based on previous reviews I decreased the liquid and used a 1/2 cup of water and a 1/2 cup of milk. I like to use dark chocolate powder, add a tsp. of cinnamon and a pinch of salt. It's perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Very good! Put a bit too much vanilla in, but it's great, everybody loved it on ice cream and couldn't believe it was homemade, going to use the rest on an angel food cake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Chocolate Ganache

See how to make rich homemade dark chocolate ganache.

Homemade Chocolate Cronuts

Pudding-filled chocolate donuts made with refrigerated crescent dough.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States