Chocolate Sandwich Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I made my filling from 1/2 can chocolate frosting brought tooroom temp, whipped then folded into 3/4 tub whipped topping, the recipie filling was calorie dense and I was trying to use things up from my fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsRevDr

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Really good an simple, keep them in the refridgerator and they are even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Absolutely AWESOME! I used a Pineapple flavored cake mix and it was just perfect!! I did cook them for 14 minutes at 325 to get them a little more crisp. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRELLA72
Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Fabulous! I tripled the recipe for a party and used 3 boxes dark cake mix, 2 boxes devils food and 1 box yellow cake mix. I also used powdered eggs because I hadnt made it to the store. EVERYONE loved them and they were so moist and chewy. I added butter to the filling and found it to be just right. Even had some filling leftover so I will be making more today. Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I only gave this 3 stars because the cream cheese filling kind of ruined it for me. I think it would work better with a peanut butter filling instead. The cookies alone were amazing - I couldn't find low calorie cake mix so I used two boxes of Duncan Hinz Devils Food cake mix instead and it was delicious! I will make it with peanut butter next time and let you all know how it came out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kendall Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
These were amazing! They were easy to make and were a hit for Easter. I did add to the filling as suggested in someone else's review, I add 1/2 stick butter and tsp of vanilla to the filling, they had just enough sweetness to them. I did make them small then the2" it called for because they were hugh so I cut it down to about 1" balls. Thank you for the quick and easy cookies, I had added this to my family desserts. I will try it will Red Velvet cake next. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Great recipe! I made the cookies chewey to my taste (7 minutes). Also I changed the recipe a little and added wip cream! I made this recipe twice today once red velvet flavored and one chocolate. With the red velvet I used cream cheese frosting. But with the chocolate I made them into a cylinder shape and instead of using frosting I made wipcream! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
These were really good! The first ones I made were made of normal cake mix, so those got really hard. However, when I used "super moist" cake mix, these were really chewy! Also, I cooked for 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I agree with previous posts... they're more like a cookie/brownie than a cookie or cake. definitely NOT a whoopie pie. But mine were a lot flatter than the photo makes them appear. Although now that I look at other photos, maybe I just expected the unrealistic. They're fine flat - soft and chewy. I halved the size of the cookies, made 1'' or smaller balls, and baked them for 6 minutes. I tried baking some in a shaped cookie pan - hearts for valentines day. But they didn't work well... the centers sink. So I ended up with heart shaped mini cookie bowls... I gave up on the shapes and made the rest round - they're great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missnepa
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Delicious. I suggest adding a teaspoon of vanilla extract to your cream cheese/sugar blend. Use a piper or put the cream in a ziploc and cut the corner. Much easier and cleaner! When putting the top cookie over the cream, twist it like an oreo to get the filling evenly smoothed out. I also suggest you make smaller cookies. Just use your hands to mix the batter (it's very stiff) and roll it into balls. Use parchment paper on your cookie sheet and use your hand to flatten the cookie. What a yummy treat. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missnepa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States