Chocolate Sandwich Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
The 1st time I made these, I followed the recipe exactly, the second time, I subbed the oil with 1 stick softened butter. I like them better with the butter, they seem softer somehow?! I use home-made marshmallow cream (on one side) for the filling and spread Nutella, on the other side...Yummmmmeeeee....goes great w/ milk or coffee for a late nite dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Walela

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Mmmmmmmmm....I made these with chocolate mix and then with strawberry cake mix. Both were eaten up quick. These are pretty sweet so I would suggest making them smaller or cutting back on the powdered sugar. I am going to try this with white cake and with carrot cake this weekend...and I am really looking forward to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
It's weird, I thought this would make more, but I guess not. Instead of 2 cups of powdered sugar I just put in one, I didn't want it super sweet. Good recipe over all though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
It wasn't what I thought it would be. The cookies were too big and rounded. Won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I did use egg substitute and also used non fat vanilla yogurt in place of the oil. (just a caution, if you use the yogurt, the mixture is way too moist to roll, even after refrigerating. I molded it between two spoons and dropped on a parchment covered cookie sheet) I made chocolate with a canned vanilla frosting that I dyed yellow for the Steelers. I also used white cake and a canned cherry frosting for the Cardinals. These were a huge hit a the Super Bowl party I attended both with the kids and the adults. I will be making again and experimenting with different flavors. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banshezmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This was my first time making cookies from cake mix. I am not much of a fan apparently but the boys in my family loved them so I rated them with 3 stars instead of the 2 I would have given this recipe. The cookie had a gritty texture from the cake mix. They were so soft they seemed unbaked. I would call these snack cakes not cookies. Sort of like the cheap little Debbie things you can buy at the store. I added peanut butter to the filling and it was super yummy. These are a cool treat to pack in the kids lunches. If you like snack cakes make this reipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAINTNMYNAILS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I got so many compliments on this recipe - everyone just loved them. I think next time I'll make them smaller - mini versions because they're rather filling. I didn't have to alter the recipe at all, went exactly as written and they were absolutely delicious. Better than a moon pie that I had gotten at a sweet shop a few months ago by far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
everyone always love these i use chocolate cake mix and yellow cake mix and use one chocolate and one yellow cookies to make the sandwiches makes it alittle different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I love this recipe. Everyone who tried these cookies loved them. For the cake mixes I used German Chocolate and Milk Chocolate. And I had to double the frosting. I will make these again and experiment with different cake mixes. A must for everyone's recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
These cookies are always a huge hit with my family and friends. Perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States