Chocolate Sandwich Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
these should be under whoopie pies because that is what they are more similar to. BUT, the taste of the cookie (but NOT the texture) part is very similar to oreos. I dropped them out by the heaping tablespoon and got about a 2 3/4" cookie and ended up w/ about 28 finished sandwiches. The filling is really yummy. I used exactly 1 cup of marshmallow filling since I had the big jar and wasn't sure how to measure out 7oz's. I didn't think the filling was sticky or messy at all. They went together and stayed together just fine. A note to all who are going to try this recipe: the cookies do spread a little but they puff up into a dome shape and hold that shape and the texture is like cake. So, if you're expecting them to look and feel like oreos - this is not the recipe for you. If you like whoopie pies and want an easy and good recipe for them - this is for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I had a specific idea in mind for the cake I wanted to bake today so I had to scout around to find a recipe for the cake as well as the filling. Since I was making a chocolate layer cake with no frosting, I was after a moist, dark chocolate cake with a rich, billowy cream filling. I chose “Breakstone’s Triple Chocolate Bliss Cake” and this filling, which proved to be exactly what I was after. (I did NOT make the cookie part of this recipe) While I have purchased countless jars of Marshmallow Creme over the years, I shamefully admit they’ve always been tossed before I could use them. I buy another and the same thing happens, over and over again. So this was the first time I have ever tasted or used Marshmallow Creme. I beat the butter, powdered sugar, milk and vanilla until good and fluffy, then added the sticky, gooey Marshmallow Creme, which I just beat in until combined. I didn’t have to add a thing; the consistency was perfect. On its own, it tasted a little too buttery but I needn’t have been concerned because it was perfect once paired with the cake. The contrast of the dark chocolate cake with this fluffy, cloud-like frosting was stunning. And eye-rolling delicious. Now that I’ve finally opened up a jar of this stuff after all these years of wanting to, I know I won’t be a stranger to it any longer. I could see frosting an entire cake with this filling, pouring a rich chocolate ganache over it, or using it as a filling for cupcakes or “Twinkie-like” cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
Very good! More like a Devil Dog than a cookie, but good all the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
They were like whoopie pies, but the cookie part itself didn't have a very sweet flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
I'm not sure what happened with these but they came out awful. No one liked the flavor and the cookies spread like crazy. I've made whoopie pies for years using my mothers' recipe but I couldn't find it so I thought I'd try this one. I think I'll keep searching for my other one. Thanks though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bevvie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
I thought these were too rich...maybe I did something wrong...who knows. But, the frosting was absolutely delicious! I will definately use the recipe for the frosting even without the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
The cookies were very fast to make. But they didn't spread very well and the marshmellow ran out of the sandwiches and made a sticky mess! I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I only made the filling as I had some leftover marshmallow creme to use up. The frosting is not very good. I had to add in more sugar as its consistentcy wasn't right. You're better off making a shortening based frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I'm giving the Filling 5 stars... I didnt use the cookie recipe because a lot of the reviews said It was more of a cakey cookie and I'm trying to imitate Christies FudgeeOs cookie for my hubby. I ended up using the "chocolate mint sandwich cookied" recipe from this site. The filling was AMAZING..... Delicious.. I liked the marshmellow cream thats what led me to use this recipe. It was the only recipe that called for it. I added cocoa powder to it because my hubby is a chocolate fan ... and again I'm makeing fudgeeo's. THanks again this is a versitle filling recipe also.. can try many things with it. so thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
This rating is based solely on the frosting portion of the recipe. I love this frosting! I used it to frost my Christmas cookies as well as for filling for my oatmeal cream pies. It is exceptional! I can't wait to make a cake and use it there,too. Outstanding. My family LOVES it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Groveport, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States