Chocolate Sandwich Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
I thought these cookies were just so-so but my family seemed to like them. I thought the cookies were a little bland and were more cake-like than cookie-like. They puffed up instead of spreading and made a very large cookie. The cream filling was overly sweet and didn't firm up well. I have a different sandwich cookie recipe that has an excellent filling. It calls for 3/4 cup shortening, instead of the butter, and no vanilla. It has a firmer texture and isn't overly sweet. I've sometimes used soy milk in place of the regular milk and it gives it a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
We followed the recipe carefully, and the cookie portion turned out okay, if a little bland. However, the filling came out as more of a sticky liquid than fluffy and also tasted too strongly of butter. Perhaps less butter should be used to make it thicker, or perhaps using straight marshmallow creme would make for a better filling. This filling version squirts out the opposite end from one's bite, and the top sandwich cookie slides around, making for a mess on top of the odd flavor. We might try the freezing idea just in the hopes of the filling getting harder and losing some of the butter tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
these should be under whoopie pies because that is what they are more similar to. BUT, the taste of the cookie (but NOT the texture) part is very similar to oreos. I dropped them out by the heaping tablespoon and got about a 2 3/4" cookie and ended up w/ about 28 finished sandwiches. The filling is really yummy. I used exactly 1 cup of marshmallow filling since I had the big jar and wasn't sure how to measure out 7oz's. I didn't think the filling was sticky or messy at all. They went together and stayed together just fine. A note to all who are going to try this recipe: the cookies do spread a little but they puff up into a dome shape and hold that shape and the texture is like cake. So, if you're expecting them to look and feel like oreos - this is not the recipe for you. If you like whoopie pies and want an easy and good recipe for them - this is for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
I made these and sent them to work with my husband. They have gotten rave reviews from everyone. The filling is some of the best I have ever tasted, and the cookies come out most and round. I am not a fand of cookie sandwiches or whoopie pies myself, but I must say these are fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
I was so disappointed by these cookies :o( They were easy to make, came off the cookie sheets without a problem, looked nice, and had a good texture (soft but not so soft that they fell apart), but I didn't like the taste one bit! And in the end, flavor definitely beats out over how easy they are to make. I enjoyed the filling and may use it between different cookies. Also, this recipe made about 50 sandwich cookies!!! I'd recommend scaling it down the first time you make them so you can tell if you like them or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
I haven't tried the cookie part of this recipe yet (Sorry!), but I have used the filling recipe several times. It is absolutely amazing-I love to make sandwich cookies, this filling is my favorite to use! It is easy to make up and keeps well-but most importantly, it tastes fabulous. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2002
Not what I was looking for. As mentioned before, they did not spread, they puffed up. Perhaps the baking powder should have been baking soda??? The filling sounds great but will use it another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
OMIGOSH! These are terrific. I will use this recipe over and over. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
I thought these were too rich...maybe I did something wrong...who knows. But, the frosting was absolutely delicious! I will definately use the recipe for the frosting even without the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
Very good! More like a Devil Dog than a cookie, but good all the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States