Chocolate Sandwich Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Wow! SUPER yum-o!!! These are simply fantastic and obviously a hidden gem on here.... With only 37 reviews and a 4 star rating, these have not received the justice they deserve. This is a pretty fool-proof recipe, however, attention to detail is a MUST if presentation is of concern to you. To ensure a perfect looking cookie, drop heaping teaspoonfuls of batter onto your baking sheet and smooth with the back of a spoon. Keep in mind that these cookies WILL spread, so be sure to account for that (I used medium-sized baking sheets and fit 8 cookies onto each one). One final observation. It is ABSOLUTELY necessary to lightly grease your cookie sheets (my first batch was a little tricky to remove and MUCH easier after my baking sheets were greased). With this being the ONLY exception, If you carefully follow Lisa's instructions, you'll be pleasantly surprised. Lisa's 7-8 minute baking timeframe was SPOT on (my cookies were done in 7 minutes). NOTE: If you are expecting a sweet cookie, this is not the recipe for you. The cookie itself is only mildly sweet. The filling is the crowning (sweet) touch. For a fun twist, I topped each "sandwich" with a small dollop of cream filling and topped that with a maraschino cherry. Too cute! Thanks for sharing your recipe, Lisa. These will be added to my holiday cookie tray for sure! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I had a specific idea in mind for the cake I wanted to bake today so I had to scout around to find a recipe for the cake as well as the filling. Since I was making a chocolate layer cake with no frosting, I was after a moist, dark chocolate cake with a rich, billowy cream filling. I chose “Breakstone’s Triple Chocolate Bliss Cake” and this filling, which proved to be exactly what I was after. (I did NOT make the cookie part of this recipe) While I have purchased countless jars of Marshmallow Creme over the years, I shamefully admit they’ve always been tossed before I could use them. I buy another and the same thing happens, over and over again. So this was the first time I have ever tasted or used Marshmallow Creme. I beat the butter, powdered sugar, milk and vanilla until good and fluffy, then added the sticky, gooey Marshmallow Creme, which I just beat in until combined. I didn’t have to add a thing; the consistency was perfect. On its own, it tasted a little too buttery but I needn’t have been concerned because it was perfect once paired with the cake. The contrast of the dark chocolate cake with this fluffy, cloud-like frosting was stunning. And eye-rolling delicious. Now that I’ve finally opened up a jar of this stuff after all these years of wanting to, I know I won’t be a stranger to it any longer. I could see frosting an entire cake with this filling, pouring a rich chocolate ganache over it, or using it as a filling for cupcakes or “Twinkie-like” cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by gwynny7
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I was really excited when I found this recipe! I have a friend who makes amazing Whoopie pies! It took me 5 hours to make these by scratch alone. Made 37 whoopie pies various sizes. Rounded teaspoons on the cookie sheet makes very small cookies. I used heaping teaspoons, and a rounded cereal spoon. I made 3 big cookies...almost 2 cereal spoons worth of batter. I managed to only eat one while making them! I am disappointed with the chocolate cookies. I thought they would be more moist and chocolately. They were on the dryer side and there wasn't enough chocolate flavor. :( The cream filling was AMAZING! Definitely will use the cream filling again! :) Overall this recipe is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gwynny7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
The cookies were a bit bland, which would have been fine since the frosting was so rich, but they didn't spread out into lovely little round cake shapes. I dropped rounded teaspoons with plenty of room, but they didn't spread at all, they just cooked in little lumps. I tried to flatten them out pre-baking, which was hard because the dough was so gooey, and they were bigger and rounder, but still not what I was looking for. They were better dipped in the frosting than sandwiched.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I only made the filling as I had some leftover marshmallow creme to use up. The frosting is not very good. I had to add in more sugar as its consistentcy wasn't right. You're better off making a shortening based frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Fabulous! The filling was a little runny, so I popped them in the freezer for a bit. It also made more filling than I needed, so I'm planning to top some hot choclate on our cold winter mornings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
thought batter was too thin added 1/2 flour, should NOT have, were good but would have been better without extra flour used filling was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
This cookies were just blehhhh. Not the brownie-type batter I was expecting. I followed the recipe exactly, too. I think they might be better with margarine or butter instead of the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mellette, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I'm giving the Filling 5 stars... I didnt use the cookie recipe because a lot of the reviews said It was more of a cakey cookie and I'm trying to imitate Christies FudgeeOs cookie for my hubby. I ended up using the "chocolate mint sandwich cookied" recipe from this site. The filling was AMAZING..... Delicious.. I liked the marshmellow cream thats what led me to use this recipe. It was the only recipe that called for it. I added cocoa powder to it because my hubby is a chocolate fan ... and again I'm makeing fudgeeo's. THanks again this is a versitle filling recipe also.. can try many things with it. so thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
i love baking things from scratch so i loved this recipe, but i think using a not so sweet cocoa made it worst. i recommend using a good brand cocoa to get the best out of this recipe. i have also used raspberry extract instead of vanilla and it was pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States