Chocolate Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by amyrenee726
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
My co-workers loved this! I made it for someone's birthday who requested a chocolate rum cake. I knew she liked coconut and since it was the only kind of rum I had handy, I used it in the cake and for the drizzle. Don't miss out on the topping, it totally makes the cake! I put chopped walnuts and coconut in the bottom of the baking flute before baking and also some on top after adding the drizzle - it was a smash hit and everyone is waiting for the next birthday to roll around to have some more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyrenee726

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newton Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This recipe made me and my girl wanna eat the whole thing right after pouring the glaze on, but we also wanted to try it tomorrow after it's soaked up all the glazy goodness. The recipe as is would be amazing for sure, but our taste buds made a few interesting suggestions that eventually led us to using Sailor Jerry's Spiced Rum instead of that white stuff, 5.9 oz chocolate pudding mix, dark chocolate cake mix, and adding 1/2 cup milk chocolate chips, 1/2 cup walnuts on the bottom and 1/2 cup in the mix, and yummy rich brown sugar instead of again... that white stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elliott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Armidale, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This is a good recipe but not great. it's hard to make the icing penetrate cake evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skykid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This cake was very easy to make and was very good. The directions do not indicate to poke holes in your cake before you put the glaze on though. Make sure you do this, or it will accumulate in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
It was pretty good - I thought it still tasted a bit like a box cake, but it dressed it up nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Parks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Underwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This recipe is EXCELLENT and super easy to make! If you want to use a 9x13 pan instead, bake it for about 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Rich and chocolaty, great spiff up of box mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamtramck, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Took this to an end-of-season soccer party and, now, 2 weeks later, parents are still asking me for the recipe. (And, I didn't even have rum....I used Canadian whiskey.) It's delicious. Don't get apprehensive about pouring over the glaze. My first reaction was "Where is all of this liquid going to go?" Trust me....it finds a place. I took it warm to the party (probably about an hour after completing) and it was perfect. Next time, I'm using rum and pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I loved this cake I had to alter it slightly because of what I had on hand. I didn't have any instant pudding but my cake mix had pudding in it. I also only had some dark rum which someone brought me from the Bahamas. Don't really care to drink it but it was great in the recipe. We had a couple pieces after I glazed it and my friend thought he had gone to heaven. Very moist and incredible rum flavor. It was also delicious the next day after a night in the fridge! Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This cake was delicious!! The only changes I had to make were that I reduced the baking time to 40 minutes, and I replaced the walnuts for pecans and added more chopped peacans to the glaze. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cccmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States