Chocolate Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Very good as written but felt that dark rum gave more flavor....at least if you like a stronger rum taste. Definintely allow to sit for a couple of days before using to develop the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Super easy to make and DELICIOUS! Cake turns out soft and moist. I added 1 dark chocolate bar to the original glaze - yum!!! My husband loves this cake with vanilla ice cream! I'll be saving this recipe on my favorites! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Natalie Bohbot Davis
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Easy! Will try again with dark rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I love Chocolate and was curious about this recipe, since it had Rum in it. I made it once and it wasnt very good. I made it again and upped the Rum and compensated with a little more flour. I added another 1/2 cup german rum. Boy Howdy!!! it was Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
LOVE LOVE LOVE this recipe! Its best if you add just a bit more rum in the glaze and let it sit over night before enjoying it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I don't "bake"; however, I'm a bachelor with a sweet tooth, so I do what I must. I had already tried the "Too Much Chocolate Cake" recipe for my birthday, so I was confident I could manage this one. Very good it was! As was suggested, I used Myers's Rum and a 50-50 split of brown and white sugar. Also, after the first batch, I decided I needed to add chocolate chips. The main challenge is to get the glaze to seep into the cake. Poking holes in the top sort of works, but the walnut layer makes it awkward. Will see what happens when glaze is poured on bottom instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick Toews

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
very good went over very well really enjoyed if you area chocolate lover you will like this cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Wonderful. Just wonderful. My husband has a new favorite cake. It's been out of the oven for only 2 hours and is almost all gone. I'm thinking of sprinkling powered sugar on it next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chasadchick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Quick and easy. One of my favorite Bake Sale "go to" recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
it was very easy to make and moist cake ever! I will make this again. I will add it to chocolate chips next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sachan777

Displaying results 11-20 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States