Chocolate Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Just made both a vanilla rum cake and this chocolate one...the best suggestion for the glaze is to invert the cake onto a plate and pouring half the glaze into the bundt pan. Put the cake back into the bundt and poke holes into the top. Drizzle the remaining glaze into the holes, let it soak before inverting it back onto a serving plate. Although I don't have any, I bet the chocolate cake will be great served with a vanilla custard or just plain old vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I've made this cake at least a dozen times now with rave reviews from everyone that tries it. I sometimes use spiced or coconut rum. I've used all kinds of different nuts. I have used both light brown sugar and white sugar in the glaze and prefer the brown sugar myself. I also whole heartedly agree with other reviewers who say to make this cake a day or two in advance because it improves very much over time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Easy and delicious. Reduced the rum butter glaze in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by llmcc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Made this for Christmas and everyone loved it! ***make sure:**** you make it at least 3-5 days before you want to eat it. All these alcohol cakes really need to sit. Also,when the cake is cool use a long chop stick/kabob poker to make holes all over! I'm talking a hole every 1/2 inch everywhere. I followed directions exactly (I only had Bacardi rum btw) and it came out great. Use ALL the amounts.... Nothing was "too strong".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I made this exactly as the recipe said. It was good but the next time I make it (and there will be a next time) I will either use a stronger tasting rum or I will replace more of the water with rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Have made this multiple times since I discovered it in July......OMG!!!! It is to die for!!! The new problem I am having is that the new cake mixes are 16.5 oz instead of the 18.25 recommended in this recipe.....I made it today without noticing that it had gotten smaller and my cake shrunk down after it started cooling.....it is not as big and fluffy as the previous. I have made this 5 times and never had it fail.... How should I alter this recipe to fit the new 16.5 oz size cake mix. I compared the cake mixes and they are recommending less water in the new smaller mix than in the larger mix. I don't know how this figures in to this recipe. Please, someone who knows how to adjust recipes, HELP!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Made this for a friend about a week ago. It was such a hit and we could not wait any longer - just made it for us. It is sooooo yummy. The only change I made was to cut back the sugar in the glaze to 1/2 cup of white sugar and then added 1/2 brown sugar to make up the difference. It made it so rich. It is very easy and super moist. It makes a beautiful cake and I will be making this over and over since we are chocolate lovers.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Very good! I also recommend making this the day before to allow the sauce to permeate the cake. I also prefer to use a spiced rum, rather than a white rum. It is a decadent but easy treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
It was a success amongst everyone at the dinner party! Thank you for everyone's feedback and suggestions improving this recipe. I used an organic all natural chocolate cake mix and pudding mix to achieve a home made wholesome ingredient recipe. I substituted dark spiced rum, Chairman's reserve spiced rum, for the white rum. I used 3/8 a cup rum and 1/8 cup water for the glaze. I made it the day before. I made holes in the bottom of the cake before taking it out of the pan and poured half of the glaze in the cake. I waited almost an hour. I took the cake out of the pan then made holes in the top and poured the rest of the glaze in the cake. I covered it with plastic wrap and left it on the counter overnight. Just before serving, I sprinkled confectionery sugar on the top to dress it up. Exceptional!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darrell A. Coleman
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This Recipe Was Great. Very Easy To Make. A Big Hit With Family & Friends. Extremely Good !!! Darrell A.Coleman
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darrell A. Coleman

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States