Chocolate Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Moist and delicious! Not too strong. Just right! The nuts on the top are the best idea and the reciepe is easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JGibby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Amazingly moist and delicious! I made this cake for my husband's birthday (it was his request) and there wasn't a crumb left! I took the advise of others and used Meyers dark rum. I also poked holes in it before glazing and made it the night prior to the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FiveStones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
This recipe is awesome! Even though it uses "boxed" ingredients, the flavors are both sophisticated and sublime! Age the finished product for a day under plastic wrap and it becomes even better. I would love to be able to suspend a cup more of walnuts within the matrix or perhaps use some walnut oil in place of the vegetable oil as the flavor combination is superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADOF7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amyrenee726
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
My co-workers loved this! I made it for someone's birthday who requested a chocolate rum cake. I knew she liked coconut and since it was the only kind of rum I had handy, I used it in the cake and for the drizzle. Don't miss out on the topping, it totally makes the cake! I put chopped walnuts and coconut in the bottom of the baking flute before baking and also some on top after adding the drizzle - it was a smash hit and everyone is waiting for the next birthday to roll around to have some more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyrenee726

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newton Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This recipe made me and my girl wanna eat the whole thing right after pouring the glaze on, but we also wanted to try it tomorrow after it's soaked up all the glazy goodness. The recipe as is would be amazing for sure, but our taste buds made a few interesting suggestions that eventually led us to using Sailor Jerry's Spiced Rum instead of that white stuff, 5.9 oz chocolate pudding mix, dark chocolate cake mix, and adding 1/2 cup milk chocolate chips, 1/2 cup walnuts on the bottom and 1/2 cup in the mix, and yummy rich brown sugar instead of again... that white stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elliott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Armidale, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This is a good recipe but not great. it's hard to make the icing penetrate cake evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher Feng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This cake was very easy to make and was very good. The directions do not indicate to poke holes in your cake before you put the glaze on though. Make sure you do this, or it will accumulate in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
It was pretty good - I thought it still tasted a bit like a box cake, but it dressed it up nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Parks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Underwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This recipe is EXCELLENT and super easy to make! If you want to use a 9x13 pan instead, bake it for about 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Rich and chocolaty, great spiff up of box mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States