Chocolate Rum Balls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
even better using amaretto in place of rum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
These turned out way too runny, even after adding extra powdered sugar and freezer time! They did taste okay, but really not worth the sticky mess... sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 767

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I used crushed Chips Ahoy for the topping... Very, Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Great recipe as I am cutting back on gluten. I used semi sweet choc as I didn't have unsweetened and they turned out great. I added a pinch of chili pepper and substituted pecans for almonds. I used a gourmet chocolate sprinkles that is less sugary and more refined looking and every one thought I bought them at an upscale bake shop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Ellen Mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
These are awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
Will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
I found these while looking for a gluten-free version of my Xmas favorite rum balls. They are super rich, but not too sweet; much more like fudge than like the traditional Nilla-wafer-based rum ball cookies. After reading LARABER's review, I decided to forgo the jimmies and used General Foods International Suisse Mocha flavored coffee powder to roll them in instead, which worked really well. I think the sugar in it helps compensate for the bitterness of the chocolate. I also had the same experience where the mixture was much too runny to make into balls. I added about half a cup more powdered sugar (maybe even more), which seemed to help. Also, it wasn't cold enough after an hour in the fridge, but three hours was plenty. Finally, I used amaretto for half the batch and rum for the other half. Both tasted awesome. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
not the recipe I was looking for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
My girlfriend picked these cookies for an exchange we had. My first thought was these will add to a nice variety on my tray. Well..I think I ate them all! These are so aewsome and addictive! Work fast after you chill for an hour and they go great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States