Chocolate Rum Balls I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Family did not like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I would go with a gold or dark rum, just to intensify the flavor. I don't think I'd go with aged or pricey rums, though, because I don't think they would stand out among the other flavors, namely the sweetness. I think I used Appleton Estates the last time I made them. ALSO you could go with a dark rum. Like Goslings Black Seal to make rum balls (and other desserts) because the flavor is stronger than the light or gold rums, and adds a nice caramel note as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I had never before had nor made rum balls but I had a request. This was my first attempt and they are delicious and oh so easy. Resting a few days makes a difference too. I used spiced rum as suggested by other reviewers. I will gladly pass these on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRAMMIX3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Potrero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Great recipe, but could have used more chocolate. Next time I will try more or maybe melted chocolate instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Na
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
My Mom used to make rum balls that were so strong it would bring tears to your eyes. I was looking for something a little more main stream and these, moist, delicious, chocolate-y rum balls are the ones!!! I read a lot of the reviews and picked up some excellent tips. Change the yield to 37 and one crushed box of vanilla wafers gives you exactly the amount called for. I still used the 1/2 cup of rum too! I used Captain Morgan Spiced for a really delicious flavor that even my daughter, who doesn't drink liked. The melon baller made it easy and less messy, just coat it with powdered sugar between balls to keep from sticking. This is a great recipe and I highly recommend it! Thanks, Farmlife!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Excellent as is. I've made substitutions just to mix things up a bit. Try adding chopped raisins soaked in rum overnight or chopped maraschino cherries in place of some of the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Redford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I made these using homemade vanilla wafers from this site. I decided to try a good brandy instead of rum. The longer these mature the better they get. At first the alcohol is really strong, but after a while it begins to mellow out. It takes more than just a couple of days. These are very nice when mature. I had to roll them in powdered sugar twice. The first time, after a day or so, it had absorbed into the candy, which actually made it taste even better. I think I will try the recipe sometime using rum, and maybe even try it using a good bourbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dinner Date

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
The secret to great taste is preparing them several days - week ahead. The longer they sit the better they taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I made these two different ways. 1st, way, I used vanilla creme wafers., Captain Morgans parrot Bay Rum, and rolled in coconut when finished baking. YUMMMM, 2 nd batch, i used Captain Morgans Spiced Rum, and Oreo cookies. fantastic! Finished Neither of my cookies came out dry. The next day, I just had to make some more... I used Bacardi gold rum and Oreos. I did add a little extra rum to this batch. They too are excellent. Both batches made with Oreos were rolled in a mix of unsweetened cocoa and confectionary sugar mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I have made this recipe for the last couple years for the holidays and everyone raves about them! They are soo simple to toss together and the longer you keep them the more intense the flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States