Chocolate Rum Balls I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Unfortunately, I really did not care for these. Reminded me of eating raw cookie dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Um, wow! These babies are potent. Make sure you give people a warning not to let the kids get near them, but otherwise they make a great addition to a candy box. They make a lot too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Swartz Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Fabulous! Made them exactly as written except used chopped Pecans (all I had). I used a rum called Largo Bay, Barbados Rum (was recommended by saleslady in store). The cookies turned out soft and chocolatey with a very mild rum flavor. I think this must be a mild tasting rum. I used a full 1/2 cup yet neither my husband nor son knew it was a rum ball. I like that as some rum balls taste too strong. The taste of chocolate was more pronounced. Very good, I'm making three more batches to use up the rum. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by algoan
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
These are really wonderful! I made them exactly according to the posted recipe and they're so easy and tasty! I should have read the tips about chilling the dough before rolling, but I just made do by washing/drying my hands after rolling out 5-6 balls and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by algoan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Desoto, Texas, USA
Living In: Beech Grove, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This is not your average rum ball to me and anyone who tried them we all felt like they were not what a rum ball is supposed to be! If your looking for a slight truffle type ball this is not it! It was ok but I Wo,t be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Other than personal taste, these were very very easy to make and were a hit with others. I mixed them up without any problem. I did use a melon ball scoop to keep the size consistent. Personally, I liked everything but the rum. I guess I am not a rum fan. My husband and son liked them very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
So I gave it 3 because I changed the recipe around a lot. Instead of rum (because I don't like rum), I used bourbon. And instead of walnuts, I used toasted pecans. I added a 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, 1/4 tsp ginger, 1/8 tsp nutmeg, 1/8 tsp allspice. I also cut down on the amount of sugar in the "rum" balls. I like them just fine-- They certainly are boozy, though. I'll be interested in tasting them in a few days, after the flavors have a chance to meld and the booziness mellows. If not, then I'm sure I'd make these again, but I might put in 1/4 cup of booze rather than 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Added these to my holiday baking list this year. Great rum flavor, nice texture. I added 1/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips for a little chocolate boost, and 2 extra Tbsp. rum as the mixture was a bit crumbly. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
These are now a must every year for Christmas. All our family expects them and looks forward to them. Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Made these cookies according to the directions and they came out amazing!! They definitely need 2 days to sit and let the rum mellow. I tried 1 right after making them and the rum was overpowering. The second day they were better and the third day even better! If you do not have 2 days to wait for the rum flavor to mellow out, try using Kahlua instead. The Kahlua adds sweetness and doesn't leave the overpowering rum flavor. For anyone who likes a bit more booze in their food, try a dark rum. I also made a batch using Bacardi Ron 8 Anos. The rum was a little strong for the first 2 days, but on the 3rd day I liked these the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States