Chocolate Rum Balls I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
These are AWESOME!!! My husband suggested an easier way to coat them with the powdered sugar: instead of rolling them in it, put the sugar in a ziploc bag and shake. They come out perfect with less mess to clean up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
299 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
Like some other readers, I made this last year and did not get around to rating it, probably because I kept having to make more rumballs for everyone who went gaga for these! They were easy to make,I used a small black and decker food processor for the nuts, blender for the vanilla wafers and Voila! very easy. I had so many requests to make more, I ran out of rum, and then started using anything that came to hand - Hazelnuts with Baileys, some with frangelico since I ran out of baileys in the middle of a batch, Kahlua with macadamias, you name it, they all tasted great and got raves. I just selected nuts that sounded like they would go with whatever was in the mix for that batch, then rolled them in either plain powdered sugar, or powdered sugar with cocoa powder to tell them apart. Tried sprinkles, and could not get them to stick, however, I HAD had several rum balls by that time:-)so I am going to try again this year! Definately a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
Just made these to add to my holiday cookie plate. They turned out GREAT! I used a little less than 1/2 a cup of Capt. Morgans spiced rum and they are tasty. They are fast and easy to make and a real crowd pleaser. You won't be disappointed. TIP: use powdered sugar on your hands to help roll the balls - they roll much quicker this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
I really should have reviewed this recipe when I started using it 2 yrs. ago. I want to give it 10 stars! I do as other reviewers: powder my hands, refrigerate the "dough," and use spiced rum. I also scale the serving size to 37 (or multiples of 37), so I only have to buy one box of wafers (exactly 2 1/2 cups). For those who don't know, the quickest way to crush the cookies and nuts is in a freezer ziploc with some sort of mallet (or palms of hands). Of course, adjust rum to taste. I still use the 1/2 cup, even when I scale the recipe down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
Okay, first of all, these are RUM BALLS! If you don't like rum flavor, then this is not the recipe you should be making! I make these ALL of the time now, they are a staple every year. I made them with coconut rum this year and WOW! YUM! TIP: Use a spoon to drop little wads of rum ball dough onto a sheet of wax paper. Put about 2/3 cup of powdered sugar into a big ziploc bag and fold the top down so that you can easily drop the balls into it once you've rolled them. Dust your hands with powdered sugar, sprinkle a little on top of the dough balls, then start rollin'! NO MESS...well, no STICKY mess, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Exarmymedic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagar, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
Though I have not yet tried this recipe (I plan to use it this holiday season) I wanted to pass along my hint for forming the rum balls - I use a melon baller. It makes all the rum balls the same size and saves sticky hands. Can't wait to try these !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
Delicious and super-easy. For stickiness, try chilling the mixture in the fridge for a little while before rolling them into balls. Using chunkier wafer crumbs helps too- I think these taste better with coarser crumbs because they add flavor and texture (though I've found that the finer the wafer crumbs, the stronger the rum balls...). Lightly toasting the walnuts (about 12 minutes at 325 degrees) before roughly chopping and adding to the mix adds greater depth of flavor--I think it complements the flavor of the rum and tends to temper what some consider the overwhelming alcohol component. I LOVE these and so does everyone else i know. With some pretty packaging, they make lovely gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
These are good - It's the first time Ive used walnuts. Here is a neat tip - I only had Coconut rum...try it, and discover a whole 'nother facet to the traditional rum balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2000
The 1/2 cup of rum/Kaluha made such a difference compared to only 1/4 cup in different recipes. So moist they were a smash!! The Kaluha ones were drier even with 1/2 cup though, so add a little water to the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2001
Oh my goodness!! I've had rum balls before, but never quite this good. I found this recipe at the last minute and found I didn't have any rum. With the stores all closed, I used Kahlua in 1 recipe and Ameretto in another. I got rave reviews! Thanks for my new favorite recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States