Chocolate Rum Balls I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by JOYFULCHEER
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
These are great and simple to make. One batch isn't really enough for a dinner party so I made 2 batches. I added a tsp of almond extract to my 2nd batch. Both the original and the modified versions were VERY well received. This is a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I have been making this recipe for more than thirty years. A number of years ago I changed from vanilla wafers to chocolate graham crackers. This very well suits the Captain Morgan Spiced rum that I use as the liquor. They are very strong the first day, but mellow out as the flavors blend together over a period of time.It's also important to to remember to re- "roll" in the confectionary sugar again, before serving. Once you make these your friends will be asking for them every year at holiday time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Made these for a cookie exchange and they went over great! Used Baileys or similar and the taste wasn't as strong as I figured other liquors could be, although i will try them also. This is quick and easy and I used a plastic 1 T. measuring spoon to compact dough, then coaxed it out with a round-tipped paring knife; then shaped into balls. I found this wasn't quite as messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I was so excited about these, but the end product is soooo strong. Don't get me wrong, I like alcohol, but these were a bit overpowering. Maybe using coconut rum or another flavored liquor would be better? I plan on dipping them in chocolate in the hopes of balancing out the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alaska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I make these every year and people always love them. I have substitued Malibu rum in for the light rum at times and it turns out super yummy too! So easy and such a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I substituted Pecans for Walnuts but this is an awesome rum ball recipe and the consistency is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
These were easy. And they are called Rum Balls, so that should be the first clue. I do wish I would have scaled back a little on the rum though. To offset it, we added more wafers and they still rolled great and some ppl thought they tasted great too. Others not so much, but I am going to chaulk that up to personal preference, not anything having to do with the the recipe. The recipe was easy to follow and produced the promised finished product. Thank you for sharing. I will make them again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
These are wonderful and pretty easy to make! I substitute Kahlua for the rum because I really enjoy that flavor. I use a cookie scoop to get even sized balls and that yields about 3 doz -40 balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Ok.. I made these today.. and tasted them too! lol VERY EASY to make.. you CAN NOT MESS UP! the box of wafers only makes 2 1/2 cups crushed so I scaled the recipe to 37 balls.. on the servings.. it depends on how big of a ball you do is how many you will get out of a batch.. I used a melon ball scoup it was perfect.. pop one in your mouth! :) I think I am going to make these with 1/2 raisins and 1/2 walnuts for a different taste for the raisin lovers! GREAT RECIPE! for those that said it was sticky etc.. .you must measure perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I love these. The only rum I had around was Sailor Jerry's 92 proof spiced rum. The bite was a little bit much, so I tossed in a few tablespoons of shredded, sweetened, coconunt. Perfection!! The coconut fibers left in your mouth deliciously mellow the boozy taste that lingers after the rest of the rum ball is gone. Can't believe I've never made these before...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandyHomemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 348) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States