Chocolate Rum Balls I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
These turned out great! I actually used less Rum and it was actually pretty weak, so therefore the called for amount would have been perfect! They still taste great and remind me of my mother's recipe. Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
(Quick note: I believe everyone tweaking and then sharing enhances this website far beyond just rating the original recipe. I appreciate the "made exactly as directed- turned out ____", but crave the notations of changes/substitutes so I can learn from other's expertise/mistakes. All of my 1st attempts turn out perfect for me and my family as a result!) I used 1 box Nilla Wafers, and changed the recipe to 37 servings to adjust for only having 2 1/2c of wafers. I followed dry ingredients exactly, except 2c walnuts. I used 1/4 cup amaretto and 1/4 cup Bacardi silver. I did not have corn syrup, so made some super-thick simple syrup with 1/4 cup water and 1 cup granulated sugar. (Microwaved the water for 45 secs, stirred in sugar 1/4c at a time, nuked for 30 secs, stirred, nuked again, stirred. This crystalizes as it cools so I don't think I would recommend this substitute.) I added it as the 2 T + 1 tsp and stirerd it all together. The result seemed very dry and crumbly (and kind of smelled like a diaper?!) and I panicked that it wouldn't form balls. Not only did I get 52 rum balls, but they were not sticky AT ALL, and I used my cookie scoop to measure how much to smush each time. Halfway through, I started to panick again (as I noticed sugar crystals on my cookies), thinking as they sit, they might dry out and crumble apart. Fingers crossed!! (Oh, and as to the booziness: they have a nice kick freshly made!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheKoreanOne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I made these I didnt have regular rum so I used over proof Jamaican rum and they turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I doubled this recipe and added another 1/2 c. of Capt. Morgan's spiced rum with an additional tablespoon of the light corn syrup...delicious with a glass of milk to warm you up on those cold nights. I like this recipe better than melting the semisweet chips. Also using gloves helped when forming into balls because the rum burns!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This is the mother of all ships. GREAT!!! I made a batch just to check it out, ate two and got a buzz :). I will be making more for my Christmas Party for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
don't know why this recipe only has 4 1/2 stars - I can't imagine it could be any better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
It would not be Christmas without theese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyngsboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
These cookies are EASY & wonderful - I'm always asked to join the "cookie exchange" and "please make the rum balls".....but keep in mind to put a disclaimer that they are made with "real rum" are NOT kid friendly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I made these for Christmas last year and gave them as gifts. They were a little bit of a pain to make, but well worth it! Everyone LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrissys_cooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
a little strong, but had good after taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Modo3000

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States