Chocolate Rocky Road Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Was not what I was expecting. It wasn't much like a cookie. And the marshmallow on the top just got hard and sticky. My 6 year old didn't even like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Very good cookie. I used chocolate powder and shortening instead of the 1/2 c. chips and butter, because I was running low on both. Still turned out great! Highly recommended for anyone with a chocolate craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
The chocolate does taste very good. However, for a batch of 12 cookies, I lessened the sugar. I thought 100 grams of sugar was excessive! With the amount of butter, chocolate and marshmallows, along with nuts packed into the cookie, I didn't think it needed 100 g of sugar. I changed it to brown sugar and put in only 55 g of sugar. The marshmallow that I cut up and mixed in with the batter compensates for the sweetness. I also find that the cookies are better tasting the next day, after they have been stored in a tupperware, after cooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sza Sza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
these were pretty good. i used 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar, and had to use bread flour instead of all purpose flour because i ran out. they were a birthday present for a friend and went over really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ceeleigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Since I only had large marshmallows and knew they wouldn't fit in individual cookies, I placed them on the batter I spread onto a greased cookie sheet. I baked the cookie cake for 17 minutes at 375 degrees. The marshmallows expanded, browned, and then collapsed into delicious pools of yumminess atop moist, flavorful cookie goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenenski Family
Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Forney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I think this is the lost recipe I've been looking for...my girlfriend in high school introduced it to me and her family put one marshmallow on top to cook 5-7 min, and then placed another on top of that and baked it again for 1-2 min to melt. I loved the melted marshmallow part and would always add 2 to make the total 3. It looks like my cookies were a bit thinner than the picture and always tender/chewy and moist! Thank you for posting your recipe...ahhh, the memories! I can't wait to try them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgefield, Washington, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
i love this recipe. its super easy and it taste delicious. its not too sweet and it come out very moist. its a bit like a cookie cake. what i changed is i added marshmallows inside the batter by taking mini marshies and cuting them in half and folding it into the batter. i made half with nuts and half without. i prefer without nuts because cookie is more denser, chewier and you taste more the of cookie dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Delicious cookies! I read the reviews and was concerned about the marshmallow leaking out of the cookie so I did a test with two cookies, one with the marshmallow on top and the other I added after baking. Personally, I like the marshmallow baked with the cookies because it browns nicely and looks like a perfectly roasted marhsmallow. I was sure to push the marshmallow down into the cookie dough a bit so it wouldn't fall off when baking. I'm not sure if this helped, but I had great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
These are pretty yummy cookies. I used the recommended 1/2 cup white and 1/2 cup brown sugar. I also added about a half a package of instant chocolate pudding to ensure that they would be nice and chewy. I rolled the dough into balls around a mini marshmallow and baked them that way. When they came out of the oven I immediately topped them with a marshmallow, which melted nicely. Didn't really remind me of Rocky Road anything, not sure what it is missing, but still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I have made this multiple times and they have always been great, but difficult to assembe (the dough is very stick making it difficult to put the marshmellows inside. If found that if I add the melted chocolate when it is still hot the dough does not get as sticky, they turn out just as well, the prep time is cut in half. I also added about a cup of chocolate chips to this and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States