Chocolate Revel Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
Made these for work and they were a huge hit! Easy and delicious..YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori VE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Growing up, my mom made these all the time. So whenever I get a little homesick this is what I make. I find that if I bake the crust for about 15 minutes alone before adding the chocolate it cooks better without being too mushy. Also, with this recipe you can really make the filling fun by adding Peanut Butter, mint chocolate chips, butterscotch, anything really. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
very delicious.mmmmm.indescribable!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
my friends love this!!! i used 2 cups APF and added 1/2 cup shredded coconut (if it's sweetened, it really won't matter) to the dough. reduced brown sugar to 1 3/4 cups and omitted the walnuts. 13x9 pan makes the bars too thick. use 14x10 pan but make sure you leave enough oatmeal dough for the topping. if it's not enough, the chocolate layer will easily be gooey and melt if left in room temperature (harder to handle and quite messy!). also, make sure you don't underbake because the chocolate layer will be hard to handle too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
These are the best brownie type bars and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONESHEQUA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
I have made this many times since my family and colleagues like it. My primary complaint is that the fudginess of my revel bars was hit or miss, probably because the chocolate layer is very sensitive to cooking time. If I underbake to make it fudgy, it becomes difficult to cut into bars because the chocolate becomes very sticky, and it also results to an uneven top with cracks on it, i.e., not pretty. The best procedure I've tried so far is this: (1) reduce flour to 2 cups; (2) I've always used wider pans as suggested by many reviewers -- 14x10 for one recipe, 9x9 for half recipe; (3) refrigerate the oatmeal mixture for a couple of hours before baking as you would a cookie, with the bottom layer already in place. Then I crumble the remaining lump of oatmeal mixture and sprinkle on top of the chocolate layer; (3) use the least heat possible to melt the chocolate chips. It's better that small bits of chocolate remain rather than overcooking it; and lastly, (4) let the chocolate mixture cool quite a bit. I make the fudge right after putting the oatmeal mixture in the refrigerator, and assemble right before putting in the oven. Following these procedures have resulted to chewy revel bars but easy to cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
EXCELLENT! My sister has a recipe for something similar, but I think these are even better. Soooo chocolately and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Made these tonight because I had a craving for something similar to the oatmeal fudge bars sold in a national bookstore chain's cafes and they were very similar, easy to make and delicious. I left out the walnuts as a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEATHER_ARTISTE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
I thought the chocolate layer was a bit.. spongey.. but still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
These were quite nice. I thought they were pretty bland, though my mom and her friends thought they were awesome. I think the 9X13 pan is too small, and the bottom layer of the dough came out too thick for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gal Benron

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haifa, Mehoz Hefa, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States