Chocolate Revel Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
My sister gave me this recipe several years ago. The bars are THE best! My co-workers request them all the time! The only things I do differently are: use a 10x15 air-bake pan (this makes the filling get done "just right" without over-baking the crust); bake for 20-25 minutes; and I melt the chocolate chips, etc. for the filling in a heavy glass bowl in the microwave! Less messy, less chance of scalding it or burning it. (Also, I don't grease the pan....there seems to be enough butter in the bottom layer to keep them from sticking.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Earth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I used dark chocolate instead of semi sweet and it made them quite tastey and not nearly as ultra sweet. Moist, chewy, the whole crowd ate them up fast! Just like my mom used to make years ago, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFritz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
These were quite good, and my husband raved about them, but I've had better. I think the topping is a bit too thick, and overwhelms the chocolate part. Still 4-star worthy, however!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Took them to a party and made some changes based on the reviews: used a jelly roll pan and baked the crust for 10 minutes before adding the chocolate. I felt they were a little dry, but they were a big hit so no matter! Perhaps I'll try the original way or lessen the baking time when I make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Lorenzo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
This had such great reviews I was excited to try something new. I was disappointed though. I had several guests and I ended up throwing alot of these away. They don't cut very nice for presentation. I also found them very bland. Just chocolate and plain flavor batter. Maybe next time some carmel and nuts??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
I misplaced this recipe a few years ago and was so sad!! Thank you for putting them on here--These are by far my favorite cookie bars!! I love them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOCHNESS350

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
Very, very yummy. I'm almost out of white flour, so I used 2 cups whole wheat pastry flour with great results. Used whole rolled oats and unsalted butter. I also cut way down on the salt in the recipe, and cut out 1/2 cup of sugar. Easy to assemble and makes a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I don't know what I did wrong when I made these, but they did not taste good at all. It was not sweet and the chocolate had a wierd taste to it-maybe because of the condensed milk. I was excited to eat some yummy chocolate bars, but unfortunately they did not turn out as I hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
This recipe is sure to OOOH & AAAH! These cookies are THE BEST! Slightly crunchy on the top, moist & chewy on the inside -- Anyone who posts differently, messed up somewhere. These have been a family favorite since I was a young girl (then called Fudge Nut Jumbles by my mother). Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veggie71

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Very tasty. At first I thought it might be too crunchy but turns out a little chewy. I decrease the amount of sugar and just used 1 3/4 for the dough portion. As for the fudge part, I find it too sweet if I add the entire can of condensed milk, so I just added maybe..5/6 of the can. I actually melt the chocolate first with the butter (using double boiler or just boil some water in a pot and put a glass bowl on top to melt the chocolate with the steam so you won't burn them) then add in the condense milk and stir till well mixed. One thing to keep in mind is that when you place the fudge onto the bottom layer, make sure you leave about 1.5cm space so it won't be too close to the side. Or else the fudge will burn and get stuck to the side of the pan. I didn't do that and I broke the bar because bits and pieces were stuck onto the pan. Not good. Overall, this is GREAT but very filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States