Chocolate Revel Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
excellant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
These were very good. I made them for work and everyone loved them. I think the key is not to overbake; they're better if they are a little chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Haverhill, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hubbard, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
This is absolutely delicious! I made these for a coworker's going away party and they were all gone by lunch time. I made them in a 9x13 pan and they turned out fine. I actually think it would be harder to do it in a flatter pan because it's difficult to spread so thin. I used rolled oats, cut the flour down to 2 cups, the sugar down to 1.5 cups and did what one of the reviewers said by putting about 1/4 cup of the condensed milk into the oatmeal mixture. For the fudge, I cut the vanilla down to 1.5 tsp. It turned out so good! For melting the chocolate, I heated the butter and the condensed milk in a pan before it boiled and poured it over the chocolate so the chocolate wouldn't burn, then added the vanilla and walnuts. The walnuts were such a good touch, without them it would have been too sweet I think. I would say I used about 5/8 of the oatmeal mixture on the bottom and 3/8 of it on top, covering most of it. They were so delicious, I couldn't stop myself from eating more than one. My thighs are going to pay for it. Next time I might use the full amount of flour or add more oats. But they were still delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Very good recipe. Essentially an oatmeal cookie but in bar form. Recipe was easy and fast to make. One piece of advice for first timers. Don't be alarmed if you think they aren't set. I have made them a couple of times and I always think geez are these done because they don't seem set - but they are:) Also these are even the day after. I almost think they should sit for a day as I think they chocolate sets. My husband brings to work and everyone always ravs about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Very tasty, more like candy than a cookie bar. I followed the advice of another reviewer and refridgerated the dough for awhile before assembling. It worked out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
This was very good..... Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Amazing! By far, hands down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Loved the chewiness of the oat mix and the chocolaty pudding-like center. I was expecting a *very* sweet bar (because of 2 cups br sugar & the condensed milk)but this was not *too* sweet. I forgot to add the nuts but,won't even bother putting in next time,they were so good without. This is now a definite FAVORITE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
I saw a recipe similar to this in a Woman's Day magazine back around 2001. I used it so much! It takes a small amount of work and they have that chewy homemade taste. I used to bring them to work all the time. They didn't last 10 minutes. Good for ALL AGES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oswego, New York, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This has been a family favorite since the 1970s when I was a kid. Sometimes we mix it up a little, and melt 8 ounces of raspberry jam with the chocolate chips instead of the sweetened condensed milk. It's delicious, but only if you have a serious sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Steidl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States