Chocolate Revel Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Always a hit! I especially enjoy the oat bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Baldwinsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
My husband and I made this recipe twice before we got the taste that we like. We soaked the oatmeal in milk for a few minutes before we made the mixture, the result was better. Putting the whole oatmeal mixture at the bottom and the choco mixture on top also resulted to better taste and appearance. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mizzfox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mela
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I've been making this for years and have yet to get a bad review. I add around 1/4 cup condensed milk to the oatmeal mix to make it chewier. When melting the chocolate, it is important not to get the flame up too high. Otherwise, the chocolate becomes too runny, making it very messy and impossible to cut into pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
this recipe was a hit to my friends! after i baked it and cooled for a few minutes, my friends cant help but munch on them! i just hav a question.. because after a few hours, the revel bars became so hard! very hard to bite on! how can i prevent this from happening?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Easy! I made as directed and they turned out perfect. Will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
These are one of the best bar cookies I've ever made. The combo of the gooey chocolate filling and oatmeal layers is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
My sister gave me this recipe several years ago. The bars are THE best! My co-workers request them all the time! The only things I do differently are: use a 10x15 air-bake pan (this makes the filling get done "just right" without over-baking the crust); bake for 20-25 minutes; and I melt the chocolate chips, etc. for the filling in a heavy glass bowl in the microwave! Less messy, less chance of scalding it or burning it. (Also, I don't grease the pan....there seems to be enough butter in the bottom layer to keep them from sticking.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Earth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I used dark chocolate instead of semi sweet and it made them quite tastey and not nearly as ultra sweet. Moist, chewy, the whole crowd ate them up fast! Just like my mom used to make years ago, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFritz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
These were quite good, and my husband raved about them, but I've had better. I think the topping is a bit too thick, and overwhelms the chocolate part. Still 4-star worthy, however!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Took them to a party and made some changes based on the reviews: used a jelly roll pan and baked the crust for 10 minutes before adding the chocolate. I felt they were a little dry, but they were a big hit so no matter! Perhaps I'll try the original way or lessen the baking time when I make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Lorenzo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Peanut Butter Bars I

If you love chocolate and peanut butter together, these are the bars for you.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States