Chocolate Revel Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Really, a 3.5, but I don't want to bring down the rating for this recipe too much b/c of my personal preference. So these are extremely rich. Extremely. If you're like me, and don't like the kick you in the teeth kind of sweet, avoid this recipe. Otherwise, you're going to love it...as indicated by all the great reviews below. I followed directions, except cutting down the flour to 2c and diverting condensed sweetened milk (1/4c) to the oatmeal mix (both advices from other reviewers). I baked in a larger pan for 30 min. I had very little problems cutting the bars despite the fudge layer being gooey...I think I made it perfectly as per the intentions of the original cook. It was just too sweet for me:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Very good! I have a recipe like this called "Fudge Jumbles". The only difference is using the whole bag of chocolate chips...why not??? Also a good idea to pat down the topping just a bit after sprinkling it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
These were wonderful! The only thing I did different was add some chocolate chips to the semi-sweet, only because I didnt have quite enough. I doubled the recipe and put them in little larger pans than the 9X13 as suggested. I did not put nuts in one of them. Put the nuts on top of the other and it made a nice presentation. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
My friend gave me this recipe 6 years ago. I'm not sure where she found it(could have been here) but, i've been making it every year for the holidays since then. I always get GREAT reviews! The only difference is that I don't put any salt in the mix and double the amount of walnuts to 1 cup. Hope you enjoy these as much as me and my family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Just a way too thick bar cookie! I actually brought them to the graduate student area of the University department where I work. I wandered by the drop-off site several hours later and a good bit of the bars were still there. I followed the recipe to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This turned out very nicely. It is rich but not more than I like. Lovely with a glass of red wine...or milk. : ) Makes a large pan full. I used a 10X14 glass pan and baked it at 325 for 40 minutes then turned off the oven and left it in for another 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang Avers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Use a Jelly roll pan (15 x 10 not 13x9) I make this recipe all time, it is chewy, chocolatey and delicious, durable and easy to cut into very small pieces and frozen.. BUT, it needs to be made in a jelly roll pan (15 by 10) not a 9x13 cake pan. Only bake 25-30 min and barely golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I make these bars frequently for potlucks and picnics and I'm always asked for the recipe. They travel well and are always a hit- I always keep the ingredients on hand for a quick batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
It is a great dessert and my whole family loved it. They all like chocolate and this recipe is full of it, yet not to much for people who don't really enjoy the taste. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States