Chocolate Refrigerator Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
First off I use this mix for my Rx. I make my butter and start there. I also make fine chopped cashews and some cashew butter. Because it is a frozen roll my cookies are very uniform in size. I get no taste of the butter only perfectly tasty cookies. Medical strength is up to how you make the butter. By far the best cookie for my needs. Yes I have a prescription. Other than butter and cashews I used the recipe as is. But adding more chocolate and espresso powder is a great idea. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flutemaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
We have tried this recipe though, it is very good they are nice, 3 stars. Would have been four but yeah. -Holly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Although these were very good, these did not have that deep, rich chocolate flavor that my family loves. I used 2 ounces of chocolate and also added chocolate chips after reading the reviews. I had contemplated adding espresso powder when making this and now wish I had to enhance the chocolate flavor. We don’t like our cookies overly sweet so we thought the amount of sweetness was perfect for us. Should you choose to make this recipe and add chocolate chips, use a serrated knife to cut the cookie dough or it will break apart on you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I baked these cookies this morning and they came out perfect and delicious! The only thing I did different was to use 3 squares of the unsweetened chocolate instead of 1 1/2 - gave them a more chocolatey flavor. The consistency of the dough made them very easy to slice after chilling - no wasted dough from broken slices -am adding the recipe to my list of Christmas cookies for next year
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
If you want a cookie that tastes like a Girl Scout Thin Mint and yet is Christmasy, try this recipe. Then when the cookies are cool, coat the top with melted mint chocolate chips, and then sprinkle on Colored sugars to make it a holiday cookie. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilredwriter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I had been looking for a recipe for these cookies since my sister and I can't locate the one our deceased mother used when we were little. the changes I made to make this "mom's" recipe: I only had dark brown sugar so used that. I used a stick of butter instead of shortening. I used two squares of semi-sweet chocolate to give it a sweeter and more chocolatey taste. These are good cookies, unfrosted, with the above changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTLMSTR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Positives: 1)Very easy to prepare, 2)Refrigerated and sliced very easily, and 3)Very nice texture after baking. Negatives: 1)Little to no chocolate taste and 2)Not very sweet. Made these exactly as written. If you plan to decorate with icing, you will solve the sweet issue. If you are relying on a chocolate taste, think again. These would do well as a sandwiching cooking. I will try again and add cocoa or just leave all the chocolate out and add almond extract and poopy seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephanieSuz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
These cookies are really good. I used part margarine and part shortening (instead of all shortening). The dough was kind of soft even after refrigerating overnight but still well worth baking. I will send this recipe to my family and friends (along with a note of where it came from).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States