Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
First, the recipe is correct in calling for 2 3-oz packages cream cheese. I originally found this recipe in an old cookbook, so I imagine cream cheese used to come in much smaller packages. The first time I made it, though, I misread and used 2 8-oz packages, and it turned out fine but a little crumbly (and SO much higher in Calories!!!). My family & I like it much better with what the recipe actually calls for. :) Ok, now that that's out of the way, this cheesecake is AMAZING! It's even better when you use a chocolate graham cracker crust, and EVEN better if you use an oreo crumb crust! I'm trying it tomorrow with strawberries instead of raspberries (just what I have on hand); I'm sure it will still be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
huge fan of all kinds of cheesecake- didn't like the texture of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Clearly an error in the ingredients list. The cream cheese quantity should be 2 EIGHT OZ rather than the listed 3 ounce. I found the cake to be of excellent quality, flavor and texture top notch. The chocolate layer on the top adds that little extra something missing in so many cheesecake recipes. Using frozen raspberries is not a good idea as they leave soggy spots in the crust. Mine were thawed and quite dry but still left the spots. Fresh ones would be better suited, but hard to find at this time of year. The whipped cream and raspberry garnish makes a great visual impact. Our group loved this dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I have been making this cheesecake for many years and am in grave danger if I even hint that I might not! I add some of the raspberry juice and some of the pulp to the chocolate glaze as well for more yummy raspberry flavor. And of course, more raspberries on the bottom! One of my favorite things about this cheesecake is that it only calls for a small amount of cream cheese. Most cheesecakes call for 3 or 4 8-oz packages!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This was a nice surprise. I was worried about condensed milk to be overpowering but it was not. It definately does not have the texture of cheesecake I like but it was still very good. I used oreo crust and more fresh raspberries. Very nice combinaton of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
My family and I are very picky about our cheesecake. Everyone I have made this cheesecake for has raved about it. It has now become the preferred choice for my friends and families holiday desert and birthday cake. I use a packaged deep-dish crust, then use only fresh and organic ingredients. Fresh blueberry and raspberry with either white or milk chocolate is chosen by the person for whom I make it. I leave out the lemon juice, and use 2 (8* oz) pkgs of cream cheese. (I believe the recipe has a typo that claims (3 oz) pkgs., and for milk choc toppings I use 1 oz white and 1 oz choc baking squares. I have a small wire baking rack that a put the cheesecake on in a foil lined cookiesheet. After the 30-35 minutes, when the center is still a bit uncooked (it appears moist and wiggly), I turn off the oven and keep the door shut. I let it cool in there for about 2 hrs. this allows it to finish cooking and cooling without cracking. I then make the topping and pour it in the middle of the cheesecake. Without touching the topping, I tip and roll the pan around letting it run to the edges of the crust as I turn, and it covers the top smoothly. Refig. for at least 3 hrs, but overnight is best. The cake will be eatable for about 3 days, if kept in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Tiff-ahh-ny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I made this today...It's great. It's easy to make and it taste wonderful..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
my friends really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meriden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Incredibly sweet, I took the advice of people saying to add extra flour and such, and instead of raspberries, I put in 1 cup of chocolate chips, and I didn't do the chocolate glaze. It still came out irresistible and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
OMG!!! Absolutly Wicked! The best dessert I have ever made. A small dolup of whipped cream (it doesn't need it, but it looks pretty) on each slice with one fresh rasberry and a sprig of mint on top make for a beautiful presentation to your guests. I will continue to make year after year to serve after Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sylmar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States