Chocolate Raisin Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This is an awesome recipe! I think I need to make a hundred of them ' cause I just may eat all these tonight!! But kidding aside one of the best muffins I've made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I loved this but added a little splenda brown sugar, some walnuts and used craisins. I use quick oats also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Overall, these are pretty good muffins. After reading the other reviews, I did make some changes. I used 3/4 cup all-purpose flour (minus 2 tablespoons) and 3/4 cup whole wheat flour, and I doubled the cocoa powder (which is why I reduced the flour by 2 tablespoons). I used quick cooking oats instead of regular oats, 1/2 cup raisins, and 1/2 cup bittersweet chocolate chips. I also used skim milk, and omitted the oil, instead using 1/2 cup applesauce, which seemed to make the batter the right kind of consistency (as I was adding the wet ingredients, I could see what others meant about the batter being too thick if you stick to the amount of liquid used in the original recipe). The muffins came out of the oven moist, with a slightly crusty top, and are quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
After reading previous reviews, I added 1/4 cup dark brown sugar, eliminated the raisins, added 1/4 cup chopped chocolate chips, a dash of cinnamon, and sprinkled the tops with white sugar prior to baking --YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2000
These muffins were really yummy, and easy to make. Just the right amount of chocolate flavour. They sure don't last long, even with the double batch I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2000
They need more sugar but they are very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manuela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
These muffins were ok. I changed a few things and I think it made them better. I substituted butter for oil and I also added 1/4 cup of Brown Sugar. Also Cinnamon and Vanilla really gave them a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
Instead of raisins, I just made chocolate oatmeal muffins. My friends loved them. I like that they are healthier and more filling than regular chocolate muffins. They were great with ice cream and fruit for a cakey dessert too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I omitted the raisins & used Ovaltine chocolate milk mix instead of cocoa (adds a little more sweetness & vitamins!). I also substituted applesauce for the oil (lower cal & fat). Tasted great, you'd never know they were healthier than normal! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This is a good recipe but I would like to add a few revisions of my own. 1) Use quick cook oats not large flake oats. 2) Add 1/2 cup of apple sauce, sweetness and moisture without the processed sugar and it won't change the flavour. 3) Try changing the raisons by using saltana rather then golden. They have a stronger flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Martin Turley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: East York, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Moist Chocolate Muffins

See how to make simple homemade muffins that are moist and chocolaty.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States