Chocolate Raisin Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I loved this but added a little splenda brown sugar, some walnuts and used craisins. I use quick oats also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This is an awesome recipe! I think I need to make a hundred of them ' cause I just may eat all these tonight!! But kidding aside one of the best muffins I've made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2000
They need more sugar but they are very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manuela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2000
These muffins were really yummy, and easy to make. Just the right amount of chocolate flavour. They sure don't last long, even with the double batch I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
These muffins were ok. I changed a few things and I think it made them better. I substituted butter for oil and I also added 1/4 cup of Brown Sugar. Also Cinnamon and Vanilla really gave them a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
Instead of raisins, I just made chocolate oatmeal muffins. My friends loved them. I like that they are healthier and more filling than regular chocolate muffins. They were great with ice cream and fruit for a cakey dessert too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer P. Ayvazian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I omitted the raisins & used Ovaltine chocolate milk mix instead of cocoa (adds a little more sweetness & vitamins!). I also substituted applesauce for the oil (lower cal & fat). Tasted great, you'd never know they were healthier than normal! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This is a good recipe but I would like to add a few revisions of my own. 1) Use quick cook oats not large flake oats. 2) Add 1/2 cup of apple sauce, sweetness and moisture without the processed sugar and it won't change the flavour. 3) Try changing the raisons by using saltana rather then golden. They have a stronger flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Martin Turley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: East York, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Overall, these are pretty good muffins. After reading the other reviews, I did make some changes. I used 3/4 cup all-purpose flour (minus 2 tablespoons) and 3/4 cup whole wheat flour, and I doubled the cocoa powder (which is why I reduced the flour by 2 tablespoons). I used quick cooking oats instead of regular oats, 1/2 cup raisins, and 1/2 cup bittersweet chocolate chips. I also used skim milk, and omitted the oil, instead using 1/2 cup applesauce, which seemed to make the batter the right kind of consistency (as I was adding the wet ingredients, I could see what others meant about the batter being too thick if you stick to the amount of liquid used in the original recipe). The muffins came out of the oven moist, with a slightly crusty top, and are quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Made these today. They came out pretty good but I added some dried cherries to go with the raisins. They came out very well, but I recommend it with lots of dried fruits. It really helps make these pop with flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States