Chocolate Raisin Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
not bad pretty good for an oatmeal muffin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaSuga

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I loved this but added a little splenda brown sugar, some walnuts and used craisins. I use quick oats also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This is a good recipe but I would like to add a few revisions of my own. 1) Use quick cook oats not large flake oats. 2) Add 1/2 cup of apple sauce, sweetness and moisture without the processed sugar and it won't change the flavour. 3) Try changing the raisons by using saltana rather then golden. They have a stronger flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Martin Turley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: East York, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I omitted the raisins & used Ovaltine chocolate milk mix instead of cocoa (adds a little more sweetness & vitamins!). I also substituted applesauce for the oil (lower cal & fat). Tasted great, you'd never know they were healthier than normal! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I tried making these for a tailgate, and they needed a lot more flavor. Next time I would double the cocoa and put in at least a half cup of sugar. Very quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
Instead of raisins, I just made chocolate oatmeal muffins. My friends loved them. I like that they are healthier and more filling than regular chocolate muffins. They were great with ice cream and fruit for a cakey dessert too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
I was excited to find this recipe because my daughter wanted to make chocolate muffins and I wanted to make something "healthy" so I thought this would be a good compromise. I made the recipe before reading the reviews. I followed the recipe (though I beat the egg separately before adding in) and they came out moist, but still had a "dry" taste, like they needed more sugar and/or more cocoa. They weren't quite chocolately enough. Maybe vanilla would have helped, as someone mentioned. I'd like to try again, but I don't think my daugther will eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
They weren't too bad. If I made them again, I'd add more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wayne City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Salem, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
I followed other reviewers' suggestions and added 1/4 c. of brown sugar. I also sprinkled sugar on the tops of these. There's just something weird about the oatmeal with the chocolate. I think these are OK, but I don't think I'll be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
These muffins were ok. I changed a few things and I think it made them better. I substituted butter for oil and I also added 1/4 cup of Brown Sugar. Also Cinnamon and Vanilla really gave them a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States