Chocolate Raisin Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This is an awesome recipe! I think I need to make a hundred of them ' cause I just may eat all these tonight!! But kidding aside one of the best muffins I've made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
After reading other reviews, I started out by putting the oats in 1/2c milk to soak while working on the first section of the recipe. Due to inattention, I forgot to subtract this 1/2c milk from the later milk added, and this turned out to be a good mistake. The muffins were about the right dampness. For the 1/2c oat-soaking, I used vanilla soy milk, then switched over to my roommate's regular milk. My main issue with the muffins is they seem to suffer from some sort of flavor personality disorder with the cocoa/raisins. Here is what I plan on doing next time: - throwing a few handfuls of chocolate chips in with the raisins. - soaking the oats in slightly more milk. - substituting in some apple sauce, as recommended in another review. I could see these being pretty successful chocolate-chocolate-chip-oatmeal muffins. I wouldn't bake them the same way next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Overall, these are pretty good muffins. After reading the other reviews, I did make some changes. I used 3/4 cup all-purpose flour (minus 2 tablespoons) and 3/4 cup whole wheat flour, and I doubled the cocoa powder (which is why I reduced the flour by 2 tablespoons). I used quick cooking oats instead of regular oats, 1/2 cup raisins, and 1/2 cup bittersweet chocolate chips. I also used skim milk, and omitted the oil, instead using 1/2 cup applesauce, which seemed to make the batter the right kind of consistency (as I was adding the wet ingredients, I could see what others meant about the batter being too thick if you stick to the amount of liquid used in the original recipe). The muffins came out of the oven moist, with a slightly crusty top, and are quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
No problems with the consistency of batter, but overall taste was boringly bland. More... salt? spices? molasses? something. Won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
followed previous suggestions, my batter came out so thick I thought I had screwed up somehow! I added 1/4 c of milk and that seemed to make it work better. nice muffin. I tossed in some flax meal for the heck of it and it's not bad at all. Previous adjustments listed were to: 1) soak the oats in the milk for about 30 minutes prior. 2) add extra water (or milk) if batter is too thick. someone else added applesauce instead of oil and said that was nice too. I'll try that next time. Great muffin though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Taking a cue from other reviewers, I soaked the oats in milk prior to adding them to the other ingredients. I did not have to add any water to the batter-the batter was very thin. I added vanilla and cinnamon to the recipe. The muffins turned out well--they had a mild chocolate flavor. Next time I would omit the raisins and add chocolate chips instead to boost the chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I made two changes: 1c of semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of cocoa and 1c of walnuts instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Judging from the reviews, I knew this recipe needed a lot of tweaking. So here's what I did: I soaked the oats in the milk for about 30 minutes so the oats wouldn't absorb the liquid in the batter and make the muffins dry. I used 2 tb applesauce and 2 tb oil instead of the full 1/4 c to make them extra moist, and added 1/4 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp vanilla extract. Once I mixed up the batter it was very stiff do I added 1/4 c water to it. These came out nice and moist with a slightly dense, chewy texture and light chocolate flavor which I liked a lot. If you want more chocolate flavor though, you should probably double the amount of cocoa powder and increase the sugar to maybe about 3/4 c. This was a really nice concept for a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
After reading previous reviews, I added 1/4 cup dark brown sugar, eliminated the raisins, added 1/4 cup chopped chocolate chips, a dash of cinnamon, and sprinkled the tops with white sugar prior to baking --YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
not bad pretty good for an oatmeal muffin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaSuga

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Moist Chocolate Muffins

See how to make simple homemade muffins that are moist and chocolaty.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States