Chocolate Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I have been doing a lot of baking the last two months (and my scale is showing it)! I really LOVED this recipe and within it I think I have finally found the perfect chocolate spice cake I have been looking for... here's what happened. I started out with a spice cake mix that was about 15 oz. To make up for the difference I added about a 1/2 cup of milk chocolate fudge cake mix from a second box. I added 3 eggs instead of two. I baked it in a 13x9 pan. It took 30 minutes or less. I found a cream cheese icing from a cupcake recipe on this site but I ended up changing that: 1/2 cup butter, 8oz. Cream cheese, both softened.Whipped high and fast. Added confectionery sugar, 2 cups and 2 tsp vanilla... as I continued to mix at medium speed I didn't like the consistency so I opened a carton of heavy cream and slowly poured in about 1/2 cup. Whipped at high speed (kitchen aid) until fluffy! NOT too long... Maybe 45 seconds...to die for!! I kept it in the fridge, three people devoured it in two days! I am very happy I got the results that I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rahway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I used this recipe as guide for what I had in mind. I wanted a pumpkin cake that tastes like pumpkin. So I followed this recipe exactly, but I used a white cake mix and added 2t. of pumpkin pie spice to the mix. I topped it with a homemade cream cheese frosting, crossed my fingers, and served it at a party. People raved, wanted to take pieces home, and my husband said, "you better write this one down, it's amazing!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I'm impressed, actually. Had I not tried this for myself I wouldn't have believed it. Wouldn't have believed that they'd be moist, tender and, most important, that the texture would be right. It was yes to all. While I was tempted to tinker with the eggs and/or oil I didn't, as I wanted to see this for myself as written. These didn't taste like pumpkin at all, which was fine by me - I didn't want them to. In fact, I wanted a bold chocolate flavor, so I added a teaspoon each of chocolate and vanilla extracts as well as a cup of miniature chocolate chips. I chose this PUMPKIN chocolate cake recipe because it doesn't hurt to infuse your cake with a little good stuff and...because I still have an abundant hoard of canned pumpkin thanks to the Great Pumpkin Shortage of a year or two or three ago. I baked this as cupcakes/muffins, 350 degrees about 18 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I did these as cupcakes and they were amazing. 2/3 full aluminum cups for 17 min. I used a hill country fair brand devils food cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Yummy cake. I turned them into cupcakes and baked for 25 minutes. Minus one star because I would like more pumpkin taste. Used the Whipped Cream Cheese Frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassondra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Can't taste the pumpkin at all, and so moist! my husband devoured it. I think the frosting actually makes it too sweet. here is how I made it: 1 box devils food cake mix 15 oz can 100% pure pumpkin (NOT pumpkin pie) 2 egg whites 2 T water 1/2 t salt 1 t vanilla 1/2 C chocolate chips (or more if you want) mix everything together and bake as directed on cake mix box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
These are really moist, no pumpkin flavor, but plain as far as taste goes. You can add some pumpkin spice to the mix as others have done or you can have your flavor come more from the frosting (like cinnamon cream cheese frosting). Many nutrition experts say we should all be eating more pumpkin and this is one more easy way to do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Made exactly as written, but used organic cake mix. Anyway, these were okay, but after day 1 they were REALLY dry and after day 2 I couldn't eat them, they were not good. I didn't frost them, which I'm sure made a difference. Frosting makes everything better right?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Great moist recipe! Made a bourbon version for Ky Derby party: added 1 cup mini choc chips, 1/2 c bourbon. Topped w/1/2 c toasted pecan pieces. Made glaze w/ approx 3/4 c powdered sugar, 2 TB cocoa, 2 TB butter, & 1 TB bourbon. Recipe = 1 med loaf pan and 3 mini loaf pans. Let sit overnight in fridge. WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Very good, made with fresh baked pumpkin (pureed)... turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYREDLOCKS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States