Chocolate Puffed Wheat Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2000
quick and easy, but b/c of the hot syrup, kids need to be supervised at all times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2000
great for fast and fun cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2000
I tried this recipe (twice in fact) and followed the directions exactly. I could not get the squares to stick together. Am I missing something? I seem to have this problem with the corn syrup and sugar mixtures. They do not seem to bind well to the cereal mixture. Any suggestions out there?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2000
these are healthier than rice krispie squares. plus you get a hit of chocolate. I love the nutty sort of fragrance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tia the Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2000
I remember these treats from childhood and now make them for my grandchildren. Just the BEST treat ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2001
This is a yummy recipie, but you have to either triple the amount of sauce, or only use 2 or so cup sof puffed wheat in order for them to even stick together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2001
I have a similar version - 8c. puffed wheat 1/2c. butter 1/2c. corn syrup 2T cocoa 1tsp vanilla 1c. brown sugar I found that for chewy squares add all ingredients but the puffed wheat and butter, bring the mixture to a boil and then add the butter and then boil for about a minute, the longer it boils the crunchier the squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veganinvancouver

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2001
The kids just loved these!! They are a very easy snack to make with the kids. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
Very sticky and gooey if you shape into balls like I did-w/4 yearold daughter's help. Made for 1st grade Easter party and will call Bunny Poop! I doubled sauce measturements because one batch of sauce didn't seem enough. Used 9 x 13 sprayed pan. Kinda guessed on amount of cereal because it was what the kids wouldn't eat in the canister and I was too lazy to measure-musta been pretty close, tho'. Party isn't for 2 more days, so will let you know how the kids liked the "poop!" Made LOTS of balls for 19 students and 2 teachers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
Good but didn't stick together to well. Boil sauce for about 30 sec makes them stay together much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gibbons, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States