Chocolate Puffed Wheat Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
This recipe,for as easy as it is, has won over all my family and friends. It disappears very quickly, and I for one love it because it is so simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
I love these puffed wheat squares! Although, I have to agree with one of the earlier reviewers, there's either too much puffed or not enough sauce but that's easily adjusted, still a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
Good but didn't stick together to well. Boil sauce for about 30 sec makes them stay together much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gibbons, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
Very sticky and gooey if you shape into balls like I did-w/4 yearold daughter's help. Made for 1st grade Easter party and will call Bunny Poop! I doubled sauce measturements because one batch of sauce didn't seem enough. Used 9 x 13 sprayed pan. Kinda guessed on amount of cereal because it was what the kids wouldn't eat in the canister and I was too lazy to measure-musta been pretty close, tho'. Party isn't for 2 more days, so will let you know how the kids liked the "poop!" Made LOTS of balls for 19 students and 2 teachers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2001
The kids just loved these!! They are a very easy snack to make with the kids. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2001
I have a similar version - 8c. puffed wheat 1/2c. butter 1/2c. corn syrup 2T cocoa 1tsp vanilla 1c. brown sugar I found that for chewy squares add all ingredients but the puffed wheat and butter, bring the mixture to a boil and then add the butter and then boil for about a minute, the longer it boils the crunchier the squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veganinvancouver

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2001
This is a yummy recipie, but you have to either triple the amount of sauce, or only use 2 or so cup sof puffed wheat in order for them to even stick together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2000
I remember these treats from childhood and now make them for my grandchildren. Just the BEST treat ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2000
these are healthier than rice krispie squares. plus you get a hit of chocolate. I love the nutty sort of fragrance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tia the Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2000
I tried this recipe (twice in fact) and followed the directions exactly. I could not get the squares to stick together. Am I missing something? I seem to have this problem with the corn syrup and sugar mixtures. They do not seem to bind well to the cereal mixture. Any suggestions out there?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States