Chocolate Puffed Wheat Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 8, 2005
they tasted great, but i could not get them to stick together. I adjusted it to 1/4 cup butter, 3/4 cup corn syrup, 1 cup brown sugar, 1tsp vanilla, 3tbsp cocoa, 8 cups puff wheat. and let it boil for three minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
A classic recipe that we all go back to every now and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
I love this recipe for being a chocolatey, healthier version of Rice Crispy squares, but even after doubling the 'sauce' the squares did not 'stick' together. Next time I try it, I will boil the 'sauce' as suggested below.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
After reading how everyone said there wasn't enough "sauce," I cut the puffed wheater cereal down to 6 cups. I think it worked fine. Tastes pretty good. I bought a huge bag of Malt-o-Meals puffed wheat cereal, and neither of us like it with milk, but we like it this way. Not the healthiest treat, but at least I'm using up that cereal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
I followed the recipe and also could not get it to stick together. I used carob instead of cocoa but I doubt that was the problem. The mix tasted good and would have been great with double or even triple the sauce. May try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
An excellent, and easy recipe! I make these and they are gone in no time! Even my 1 1/2 year old triplets love this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
Followed recipe there was not enough coating and it didn't harden very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabriella Levine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
This recipe,for as easy as it is, has won over all my family and friends. It disappears very quickly, and I for one love it because it is so simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
I love these puffed wheat squares! Although, I have to agree with one of the earlier reviewers, there's either too much puffed or not enough sauce but that's easily adjusted, still a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
Good but didn't stick together to well. Boil sauce for about 30 sec makes them stay together much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gibbons, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States