Chocolate Puffed Wheat Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Wouldn't use this recipe again. I love puffed wheat squares and these are just as easy as any other but lacking in gooey-ness and sweetness. They need way more chocolate sauce and the sauce itself needs way more brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEELEE6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Battleford, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Warman, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
my wife absolutely LOVES these!!! so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Followed the suggestions from Rachelle review from Mar. 25, 2008. Taste great & they stick together - only problem just one day after (even stored in a air tight container) are rock hard. Like it to be sticky gooey. Any suggestions anyone please?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Unfortunately, I did not read the other reader reviews before I made this recipe, and I found out the hard way that it doesn't stick- at all. I ended up doubling the candy recipe and then it stuck together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I have tried many puffed wheat square recipes and it's one of the things that never turns our for me. I found this one wasn't sticky enough to stay together very well. The taste was good and my kids enjoyed eating it regardless of it's texture. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJP1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This is the same basic recipe I've seen lots of places so you won't find anything different anywhere else, and there's nothing wrong with it. To get them to stick together all you have to do is keep the syrup at a rolling boil on med/low heat, stirring constantly, for 3 to 5 minutes. Chill them to set as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
A 3* review for taste, but they didn't stick together at all. I'll try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
The recipe was great once I doubled the liquid amount
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinf31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I changed up the recipe a bit to make it low-fat. Instead of butter I put 2/3 cup mini marshmallows, put in splenda instead of brown sugar, and used some millet puffs too (i had some left over). There was definitely enough coating for the puffs with all the marshmallows. I also heated everything in the large bowl in the microwave and then added the wheat while mixing. I shaped mine into little balls in muffin tins. Cute and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I give this recipe 4 stars because they were super easy. A go-to for a quick snack or treat after dinner. There was a little something missing... haven't figured it out yet, but good for a quick, every day treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleynicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States