Chocolate Puffed Wheat Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This is a stingy version of the original recipe most people are looking for. After a bit of a search I have found the most used recipe is: 1/2 c butter, 1/2c corn syrup, 1cup brown sugar, 2 tsp cocoa, 2 tsp. vanilla for 8 cups of puffed wheat. As well, by rapid boiling the syrup for one minute I think most people without a candy thermometer run the risk of taking it to a hard candy stage (hence the comments about rock hard squares). Bring the syrup to boil and as soon as it hits rapid boil remove it from heat. Should work out better for most people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by romyo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This recipe is alright, however I suggest doubling everything but the puff wheat otherwise theres not enough chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSSPARKLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Wouldn't use this recipe again. I love puffed wheat squares and these are just as easy as any other but lacking in gooey-ness and sweetness. They need way more chocolate sauce and the sauce itself needs way more brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEELEE6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Battleford, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Warman, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
my wife absolutely LOVES these!!! so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Followed the suggestions from Rachelle review from Mar. 25, 2008. Taste great & they stick together - only problem just one day after (even stored in a air tight container) are rock hard. Like it to be sticky gooey. Any suggestions anyone please?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Unfortunately, I did not read the other reader reviews before I made this recipe, and I found out the hard way that it doesn't stick- at all. I ended up doubling the candy recipe and then it stuck together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I have tried many puffed wheat square recipes and it's one of the things that never turns our for me. I found this one wasn't sticky enough to stay together very well. The taste was good and my kids enjoyed eating it regardless of it's texture. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJP1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This is the same basic recipe I've seen lots of places so you won't find anything different anywhere else, and there's nothing wrong with it. To get them to stick together all you have to do is keep the syrup at a rolling boil on med/low heat, stirring constantly, for 3 to 5 minutes. Chill them to set as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
A 3* review for taste, but they didn't stick together at all. I'll try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
The recipe was great once I doubled the liquid amount
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinf31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States