Chocolate Puffed Wheat Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Wonderful recipe but I find that in order to get it to stick properly, it's best to wet the palms of your hands lightly with tap water and press the mixture into the pan carefully but firmly after you have used the spatula (without the butter) with your damp palms. The water stops the heat from burning your palms and also stops the mixture from sticking to you. The mixture holds much better this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This is a stingy version of the original recipe most people are looking for. After a bit of a search I have found the most used recipe is: 1/2 c butter, 1/2c corn syrup, 1cup brown sugar, 2 tsp cocoa, 2 tsp. vanilla for 8 cups of puffed wheat. As well, by rapid boiling the syrup for one minute I think most people without a candy thermometer run the risk of taking it to a hard candy stage (hence the comments about rock hard squares). Bring the syrup to boil and as soon as it hits rapid boil remove it from heat. Should work out better for most people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by romyo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This recipe is alright, however I suggest doubling everything but the puff wheat otherwise theres not enough chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSSPARKLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Wouldn't use this recipe again. I love puffed wheat squares and these are just as easy as any other but lacking in gooey-ness and sweetness. They need way more chocolate sauce and the sauce itself needs way more brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEELEE6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Battleford, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Warman, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
my wife absolutely LOVES these!!! so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Followed the suggestions from Rachelle review from Mar. 25, 2008. Taste great & they stick together - only problem just one day after (even stored in a air tight container) are rock hard. Like it to be sticky gooey. Any suggestions anyone please?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Unfortunately, I did not read the other reader reviews before I made this recipe, and I found out the hard way that it doesn't stick- at all. I ended up doubling the candy recipe and then it stuck together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I have tried many puffed wheat square recipes and it's one of the things that never turns our for me. I found this one wasn't sticky enough to stay together very well. The taste was good and my kids enjoyed eating it regardless of it's texture. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJP1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This is the same basic recipe I've seen lots of places so you won't find anything different anywhere else, and there's nothing wrong with it. To get them to stick together all you have to do is keep the syrup at a rolling boil on med/low heat, stirring constantly, for 3 to 5 minutes. Chill them to set as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
A 3* review for taste, but they didn't stick together at all. I'll try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States